Edit this section to describe the research topic or specifics about the assignment.
Read around your topic with Encyclopedia Databases.
During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.
Search all ABC-CLIO databases from this link.
Thorough encyclopedia articles for research about American Government.
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern world geography.
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.
Explore religions of the world.
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.
Explore controversies from American and World history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.
The following resources are best when you already have:
Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.
Search all Gale databases.
Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.
Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.
Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.
Curated content related to diversity, including feminism, LGBT, race, class, culture, health, disability and more.
Explore religion from around the world through this collection of curated sources.
Curated resources related to the study of psychology.
Curated resources in the field of science.
Provides access to many scientific magazines and journals for authoritative science content.
JSTOR is a scholarly journal database with great resources for academic research. You must have Boston Public Library eCard for JSTOR. Get the eCard here: bit.ly/bpltutorials
