A collection of books with slave narratives from ABC-CLIO. (Primary Sources).
Historical context and primary sources related to themes from The Life of Frederick Douglass, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. ABC-CLIO
"The Many Faces of Slavery explores non-traditional forms of slavery that existed outside the plantation system to illustrate the pluralities of slave ownership and experiences in the Americas, from the 17th to the 19th century."
This book captures the people, institutions, ideas, and events during the Colonial period that helped establish and define the United States of America.
From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
This book explores immigrant journeys to America, the immigrant experience (especially when there are culture clashes, along with contributions and the battles fought to gain acceptance.
Primary Source documents from the Jacksonian and Antebellum eras are analyzed and given historical context.
From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
The book profiles key American literature related to the war, both on and off the battlefield, including Stephen Crane's The Red Badge of Courage, Ambrose Bierce's "Chickamauga," Louisa May Alcott's Hospital Sketches, the Civil War poems of Walt Whitman and Herman Melville, and Lincoln's "Gettysburg Address." This book serves to demonstrate how profoundly the actions on the Civil War battlefield shaped American politics, society, and the arts.
Explores the history between 1860 and 1876, about the social, political and economic impacts of the Civil War and Reconstruction.
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of the American economy.
"The American Presidents presents essays on the life and politics of each U.S. president, in chronological order from George Washington to Joe Biden.
This book provides information and history about a federal agency that shaped US policy toward Native Americans.
Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of discrimination against the mentally ill in America.
This reference work examines significant social movements in American history, covering each movement’s goals, tactics, and effects, as well as its successes and failures.
Examines the relationship between the media, propaganda, and the military since before the American Revolution through today.
Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
Examines often underrepresented but influential groups, whose recent rise in visibility has mirrored the profound changes occurring within the fabric of American society.
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
"This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through Danica Roem's speech in 2017, celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History."
This sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the 1970s to the present, when LGBTQ issues figure prominently in politics.
This two-volume set provides a chronological view of the foreign policy/national security doctrines of key American presidents from Washington to Obama.
The Opinions Throughout History book series explores the evolving discussions about key controversies from US History. Each chapter includes a source document, discussion, and analysis. Books include Immigration | Gender: Roles and Rights | Voter's Rights | Robotics and Artificial Intelligence | War and the Military | Free Speech and Censorship | Mental Health
This book discusses key points and controversies in the history of free speech in the United States. A timeline of significant events is also included.
This title explores the history of gender roles in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This title explores the history of immigration in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This title explores the history of advanced technology in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This volume tackles not only the topic of voter suppression, but how public opinion influenced action on voters' rights, from the founding of the country, when most states limited the right to vote to property-owning males, to the establishment in 2017 of the Presidential Advisory Commission of Election Integrity, and beyond, to how voter suppression efforts effected the 2018 elections.
This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
Infobase ebook about the history of poverty in America.
"Defining Documents in American History: Prison Reform provides an in-depth analysis of the primary documents that capture the debates, activism, and legislation surrounding the system of imprisonment in the United States. "
"This volume presents the latest research in propaganda studies, featuring contributions from a range of leading scholars and covering the most cutting-edge scholarship in the study of propaganda from World War I to the present."
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.
ABC-CLIO ebook. History of Revolts and Rebellions in America. Volume 1: 1600s - 1840. Volume 2: 1840 - 1914, Volume 3: 1915 - 2006
This book provides an analytical guide to the modern political campaign, chronologically covering key federal, state, and local campaign laws, election commission rules, and the court decisions interpreting them. Through 2010.
A critical tool for the study of U.S. history, this volume offers an analysis of important documents and decisions in U.S. foreign policy from George Washington to Barack Obama.
Providing key data, insights, and ways of thinking about women and sports.
Explore the history of American workers from colonial times through the the present day. Facts on File (Infobase)
Explores the women's rights movements from the mid 1800s through the 1960s and 1970s.
Historical information about the Chinese Exclusion Act from the late 1800s.
First-hand accounts from workers, housewives, and children help illuminate the significant achievements of the era and their impact on the everyday lives of ordinary people.
From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
Examines the historical context and primary sources related to the themes of A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, The Yellow Wallpaper, The Jungle, and A Lost Lady. ABC-CLIO
This reference provides definitive coverage of the social and cultural developments of the period, as well as its political and economic history.
A look at the individuals, themes, and moments that shaped Progressive Era in the United States. ABC-CLIO
This book explores the progressive movement that began at the end of the 19th century, the origins, and their influence on on society and politics.
This book provides a historical examination of everyday life to reveal how and why Americans during the Progressive Era structured their world and made their lives meaningful.
Explores reform movements from the early decades of the 20th century.
This book includes essays, primary source documents, and chronology for WWI.
World War I examines one of the most pivotal points in 20th-century history, exploring the social, cultural, military, and political impacts of this war on American society, as well as the role the United States played in the conflict.
From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
Primary Source documents related to the themes of books that where written during the Jazz Age. Books referenced include: Babbit, The Great Gatsby, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, The Sun Also Rises, and Passing.
Explores the history of the Jazz Age extending from the end of World War I in 1918 to the Wall Street crash in 1929.
"This compilation of essays takes a closer look at this pivotal point in African American history, as well as its origins, identity, portrayal, of women, and rediscovered authors. This title seeks to offer not only expanded readings of the central themes that have long captivated the attention of scholars across time, but also providing valuable insight into the texts, authors, and critical perspectives too often overlooked. "
ABC-CLIO eBook that includes primary sources and historical context related to themes in As I Lay Dying, Of Mice and Men, Grapes of Wrath, and A Native Son.
Capstone Interactive ebook which includes the history surrounding the Migrant Mother picture and the Great Depression.
Infobase ebook about life during the Great Depression and World War II.
Refugees and Undocumented Immigrants from Big Timber Media.
This much-needed study documents positive Arab-American contributions to American life and culture, especially in the last decade, debunking myths and common negative perceptions that were exacerbated by the 9/11 attacks and the War on Terror.
Examines often underrepresented but influential groups, whose recent rise in visibility has mirrored the profound changes occurring within the fabric of American society.
This book provides background information on the political, social, and economic forces driving undocumented immigration into America. ABC-CLIO
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This encyclopedia is a unique collection of entries covering the arrival, adaptation, and integration of immigrants into American culture from the 1500s to 2010. ABC-CLIO
Examines policies, events, and key figures related to immigration over 200 years. ABC-CLIO
A detailed and engaging historical examination that provides an intimate understanding of the daily life of the new immigrants in the United States.
This title explores the history of immigration in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This book spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population.
This reference work provides coverage of the developments in U.S. affairs from the outbreak of the Cold War to the early twenty-first century.
The period following World War II was marked by great social change as a result of the civil rights movement, the feminist movement, and the youth opposition to the Vietnam War.
This book examines Little Rock Nine, the Civil Rights Movement, and historical context.
A biography of Ceasar Chavez and the history of the United Farm Workers founded in 1962.
An era that changed America forever is analyzed through the words of those who led, participated in, and opposed the protest movements that made the 1960s a signature epoch in U.S. culture. includes commentary and context for primary source documents.
This Infobase book includes a variety of topics related to the 1960s.
This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1970s.
This sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the 1970s to the present, when LGBTQ issues figure prominently in politics.
This book explores the historical context and primary sources related to the themes of Chicano Literature including Bless Me, Ultima, The Migrant Earth, The Revolt of the Cockroach People, and The House on Mango Street.
This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1980s.
This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1990s.
This work offers a sweeping collection of A–Z entries and primary source documents that presents a thorough examination of all the individuals, groups, and events surrounding the 9/11 terrorist attacks.
This book analyzes the complex causes and effects of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks both domestically and internationally, and examines the subsequent wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
This informative book offers a collection of documents on the origins and conduct of the Iraq War.
Changing international affairs and the forces of technological innovation shaped the lives of Americans in the last decades of the 20th century. Facts on File (Infobase)
Includes information and debates related to civil liberties. ABC-CLIO
Includes topics such as proposed sentencing, prison preforms, stand your ground, supreme court decisions, current data, and more. ABC-CLIO
Follet Shelf ebook (search for book) - book about the history of crime and the criminal justice system in America.
From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace.- ABC-CLIO
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
This book explores the moral complexities of situations faced by law enforcement officers every day across the United States. It extends our understanding of the basis of police accountability by grounding it in principles of the social contract and constitutional democracy.
"Defining Documents in American History: Prison Reform provides an in-depth analysis of the primary documents that capture the debates, activism, and legislation surrounding the system of imprisonment in the United States. "
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
A history of drug policy in the United States from the early 1900s through the present day. (Book written in 2012).
"A comprehensive look at torture, this book explains where we are as a society with regard to use, how we got here, and where the state of thought on it may be in the future." - ABC-CLIO
Provides analysis on everything from human rights reports to Supreme Court cases that allows the reader to fully understand these documents. ABC-CLIO
This reference guide documents white-collar crimes by individuals and businesses over the past 150 years, offering the most comprehensive array of documents and interpretations available. ABC-CLIO
An overview of the #MeToo movement and it's impact on American society. ABC-CLIO
Current statistics about African Americans highlighting social, economic and political disparities. ABC-CLIO
This book explores the causes and consequences of contemporary antisemitism, placing this form of hatred in its historical, political, and social contexts. ABC-CLIO
Refugees and Undocumented Immigrants from Big Timber Media.
This book series includes Twitter Culture, Fake News, the Confirmation Bias, Understanding Memes, Weaponized Social Media, and When Content Goes Viral.
Due to today’s globalized economic systems, how and what you buy has repercussions that impact people all over the world.
From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace.- ABC-CLIO
This book series includes books about drug use and causes, mental health, the family, the law, intervention and recovery, alcohol, tobacco, hallucinogens, marijuana, opioids, over-the-counter drugs, performance-enhancing drugs, prescription drugs, and stimulants.
This title provides an overview of economic, political, and environmental drivers of America's energy picture, from trends in the production and consumption of fossil fuels and renewables to the state of the national energy grid.
Big Timber Media
This book provides background information on the political, social, and economic forces driving undocumented immigration into America. ABC-CLIO
The family values movement is a conservative movement that strongly supports traditional social values.
This book examines how gender and LGBTQ identities are developed, fought for, perceived, and policed in countries as diverse as France, Brazil, Russia, Jordan, Iraq, and China. ABC-CLIO
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
This book provides an introduction to the issue of internet addiction, an increasingly common problem.- ABC-CLIO
This sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the 1970s to the present, when LGBTQ issues figure prominently in politics.
Explores whether or not people can trust print and electronic media to report the news with accuracy.
This book series includes Chronic Pain and Prescription Painkillers, Preventing and Treating Addiction, the Dangers of Drug Abuse, The Heroin Crisis, and Who is Using Opioids and Opiates.
This book closely examines controversial claims and beliefs surrounding poverty and anti-poverty programs in the United States.
This book explores the moral complexities of situations faced by law enforcement officers every day across the United States. It extends our understanding of the basis of police accountability by grounding it in principles of the social contract and constitutional democracy.
This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
The books in this series include Examining Assimilation, Investigating Institutional Racism, Navigating Intersectionality, Recognizing Microaggressions, Looking at Privilege and Power, and Questioning Cultural Appropriation.
A detailed exploration of the Never Again movement through analysis of key events, biographical profiles of the activists, and essays about school shootings.
This book series includes the following titles: Abuse Among Family and Friends, Coping with Sexual Violence and Harassment, Dealing with Dating and Romance, and Preventing Sexual Assault and Harassment. From Big Timber Media
Examines the ways in which children are being sexualized, the physical and psychological consequences.
This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today—everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism.
Comprising essays on a variety of topics such as immigration, gun control, abortion, race relations, the environment, and gender.
This book examines white supremacism and other ideologies that motivate these groups. From Big Timber Media
This book examines current and emerging research on how stereotypes begin, grow, and harm the members of society—and what can be done to stop them. - ABC-CLIO
A history of drug policy in the United States from the early 1900s through the present day. (Book written in 2012).
Information and data about America's suicide epidemic from Big Timber Media.
Big Timber Media
This book answers readers' questions about the causes and consequences of stress and how it can be prevented and managed. Life can be stressful, especially for teens, and this stress can have negative impacts on both physical and psychological health.
Big Timber Media
Books in Series: Policing, Privacy, Religion, Speech, and Voting
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties on Big Timber Media.
"A comprehensive look at torture, this book explains where we are as a society with regard to use, how we got here, and where the state of thought on it may be in the future." - ABC-CLIO
This resources focuses on more than one idea or experience of trans identity and trans history.
This book overview of vaping and its impact on American culture and public health, especially among younger Americans.
