An overview of the #MeToo movement and it's impact on American society. ABC-CLIO
Current statistics about African Americans highlighting social, economic and political disparities. ABC-CLIO
This book explores the causes and consequences of contemporary antisemitism, placing this form of hatred in its historical, political, and social contexts. ABC-CLIO
Refugees and Undocumented Immigrants from Big Timber Media.
This book series includes Twitter Culture, Fake News, the Confirmation Bias, Understanding Memes, Weaponized Social Media, and When Content Goes Viral.
Due to today’s globalized economic systems, how and what you buy has repercussions that impact people all over the world.
From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace.- ABC-CLIO
This book series includes books about drug use and causes, mental health, the family, the law, intervention and recovery, alcohol, tobacco, hallucinogens, marijuana, opioids, over-the-counter drugs, performance-enhancing drugs, prescription drugs, and stimulants.
Available in print and as an ebook.
Book description: "This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Climate Change... provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change. It includes 558 essays and extensive back matter... with a comprehensive and convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change."
This title provides an overview of economic, political, and environmental drivers of America's energy picture, from trends in the production and consumption of fossil fuels and renewables to the state of the national energy grid.
Big Timber Media
This book provides background information on the political, social, and economic forces driving undocumented immigration into America. ABC-CLIO
The family values movement is a conservative movement that strongly supports traditional social values.
This book examines how gender and LGBTQ identities are developed, fought for, perceived, and policed in countries as diverse as France, Brazil, Russia, Jordan, Iraq, and China. ABC-CLIO
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
This book provides an introduction to the issue of internet addiction, an increasingly common problem.- ABC-CLIO
This sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the 1970s to the present, when LGBTQ issues figure prominently in politics.
"This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through Danica Roem's speech in 2017, celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History."
Big Timber Media
Books in Series: Bing Transgender, Coming Out and Seeking Support, Confronting Stereotypes, Engaging with Politics, Facing Homophobia, Finding Community, Keeping Physically Healthy, Living with Religion and Faith, Staying Mentally Healthy.
Explores whether or not people can trust print and electronic media to report the news with accuracy.
This book series includes Chronic Pain and Prescription Painkillers, Preventing and Treating Addiction, the Dangers of Drug Abuse, The Heroin Crisis, and Who is Using Opioids and Opiates.
This book closely examines controversial claims and beliefs surrounding poverty and anti-poverty programs in the United States.
This book explores the moral complexities of situations faced by law enforcement officers every day across the United States. It extends our understanding of the basis of police accountability by grounding it in principles of the social contract and constitutional democracy.
This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
The books in this series include Examining Assimilation, Investigating Institutional Racism, Navigating Intersectionality, Recognizing Microaggressions, Looking at Privilege and Power, and Questioning Cultural Appropriation.
A detailed exploration of the Never Again movement through analysis of key events, biographical profiles of the activists, and essays about school shootings.
This book series includes the following titles: Abuse Among Family and Friends, Coping with Sexual Violence and Harassment, Dealing with Dating and Romance, and Preventing Sexual Assault and Harassment. From Big Timber Media
Examines the ways in which children are being sexualized, the physical and psychological consequences.
This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today—everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism.
Comprising essays on a variety of topics such as immigration, gun control, abortion, race relations, the environment, and gender.
This book examines white supremacism and other ideologies that motivate these groups. From Big Timber Media
This book examines current and emerging research on how stereotypes begin, grow, and harm the members of society—and what can be done to stop them. - ABC-CLIO
Available as a print book and an ebook.
From book description: "Social Media & Your Mental Health is a wide-ranging volume that explains today's social media landscape and examines its ramifications for users. An even-handed selection of essays that neither vilify technology nor ignore the fact that it can have dire repercussions if misused."
A history of drug policy in the United States from the early 1900s through the present day. (Book written in 2012).
Information and data about America's suicide epidemic from Big Timber Media.
Big Timber Media
This book answers readers' questions about the causes and consequences of stress and how it can be prevented and managed. Life can be stressful, especially for teens, and this stress can have negative impacts on both physical and psychological health.
Big Timber Media
Books in Series: Policing, Privacy, Religion, Speech, and Voting
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties on Big Timber Media.
"A comprehensive look at torture, this book explains where we are as a society with regard to use, how we got here, and where the state of thought on it may be in the future." - ABC-CLIO
This resources focuses on more than one idea or experience of trans identity and trans history.
This book overview of vaping and its impact on American culture and public health, especially among younger Americans.
Clearly written informational text about animal classification. Includes questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, and maps.
Clearly written informational text about cells. Includes questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, and maps.
Clearly written informational text about ecosystems. Includes questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, and maps.
Available in print and as an ebook.
Book description: "This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Climate Change... provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change. It includes 558 essays and extensive back matter... with a comprehensive and convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change."
This series explores energy sources and their effect on the environment. Books include Wind and Water, Solar and Geothermal Energy, Nuclear Energy, Natural Gas and Hydrogen, Coal and Oil, and Biofuels.
Examines climate change, fossil fuels, endangered species, and renewable energy, and examines how these issues are affecting countries around the world.
This title provides an overview of economic, political, and environmental drivers of America's energy picture, from trends in the production and consumption of fossil fuels and renewables to the state of the national energy grid.
Clearly written informational text about food chains. Includes questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, and maps.
Clearly written informational text about genetics. Includes questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, and maps.
This book series includes the books Biodiversity, Cleaning up the Environment, Conservation, Environmental Engineering, Pollution, Renewable Energy, Sustainability, and Waste Treatment.
Clearly written informational text about photosynthesis. Includes questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, and maps.
"This title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices."
"This new resource explores the world of sports fitness, injury, and rehabilitation, introducing readers to important topics in easy-to-understand language. Achieving optimum fitness levels, whether for the professional athlete or for the amateur enthusiast, requires knowledge of human anatomy and a basic understanding of the effects of exercise, injury, and nutrition on the body. Treatments, diagnostic tools, sports-related careers, and athlete doping scandals round out the discussion of this perennially popular topic. This volume offers amateur athletes and students who want to learn about the complexities of sports medicine and exercise science a solid and accessible introduction. "
Discusses the often politically and socially contentious relationship between science and politics, from the 1940s through the early days of the Obama administration. Search for "Toxic Mix."
Current statistics about African Americans highlighting social, economic and political disparities. ABC-CLIO
This book explores the causes and consequences of contemporary antisemitism, placing this form of hatred in its historical, political, and social contexts. ABC-CLIO
Available as a print book and an ebook.
From book description: "This volume, Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954-2015), offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped civil rights’ struggles in American history. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents and delivers a thorough examination of civil rights movements in the U.S. from 1954 to 2015. The material is organized under five broad categories: African American Civil Rights, Women and Equality, Latino Civil Rights, The Gay Rights Movement, Native American Rights"
Refugees and Undocumented Immigrants from Big Timber Media.
This book will examine this popular phrase by retracing the immigrant journey within the United States and investigating the concept of cultural assimilation.
This book provides background information on the political, social, and economic forces driving undocumented immigration into America. ABC-CLIO
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
Institutional racism is the idea that many of our most powerful institutions promote oppression by targeting qualities that correlate with racial identity and disproportionately disadvantage people of color.
In this book, uncover truths about privilege and power that can help lead the productive conversations that are necessary to social justice education and beginning the work of accepting responsibility.
How are our experiences shaped by our race, gender, and class? How do these identities intersect?
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
We must all learn to questions cultural appropriation. it wipes out and whitewashes all of our differences away.
This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
A classmate questions how you got into college. A neighbor clutches her purse when you pass. A job interviewer compliments your English. Every day these experiences leave people of color scratching their heads, and before long, they're impossible to ignore.
From the Threats to Civil Liberties series on Big Timber Media.
This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today—everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism.
This book examines white supremacism and other ideologies that motivate these groups. From Big Timber Media
This book examines current and emerging research on how stereotypes begin, grow, and harm the members of society—and what can be done to stop them. - ABC-CLIO
Those interested in making the world a better place can find numerous project ideas, advice, and insights from successful teen volunteers in this motivational guide. From Big Timber Media
Big Timber Media
A PDF ebook with great information for youth activists, from forming a plan through execution.
Shows free online resources such as reference, programming and displays. ABC-CLIO
"This book argues that storytelling is an important resource in coming to terms with the loss of the feeling of living a grounded existence where the future remains relatively stable and predictable. Faced with the specter of climate catastrophe, we lose confidence in the future-a well-documented response in the environmental movement, for example. Yet stories, and in particular sophisticated fictional stories, can help us negotiate that uncertainty: they offer affective and imaginative tools that channel the instability of our climate future and invite audiences to accept its fundamental uncertainty"
Due to today’s globalized economic systems, how and what you buy has repercussions that impact people all over the world.
From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace.- ABC-CLIO
Available in print and as an ebook.
Book description: "This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Climate Change... provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change. It includes 558 essays and extensive back matter... with a comprehensive and convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change."
This title provides an overview of economic, political, and environmental drivers of America's energy picture, from trends in the production and consumption of fossil fuels and renewables to the state of the national energy grid.
Examines climate change, fossil fuels, endangered species, and renewable energy, and examines how these issues are affecting countries around the world.
This book examines how gender and LGBTQ identities are developed, fought for, perceived, and policed in countries as diverse as France, Brazil, Russia, Jordan, Iraq, and China. ABC-CLIO
This series of books examines the history and events leading up to modern conflicts in Latin America, Sub Saharan Africa, Asia and Oceania, North America and Europe.
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
From Islamic extremism in Algeria to civil war in Iraq, this volume provides in-depth coverage of political and cultural conflict in the Middle East.
"Climate change, racism, and the COVID-19 pandemic have shown more than ever the need for a global shift in education policy and practice. This book provides a conceptual framework of global education and learning and the role it can play in addressing these social and environmental challenges."
This book spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population.
Comprising essays on a variety of topics such as immigration, gun control, abortion, race relations, the environment, and gender.
"A comprehensive look at torture, this book explains where we are as a society with regard to use, how we got here, and where the state of thought on it may be in the future." - ABC-CLIO
"Urban Sustainability and Justice presents an innovative yet practical approach to incorporate equity and social justice into sustainable development in urban areas, in line with the commitments of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and the New Urban Agenda."
Big Timber Media
Bogus social media accounts, Russian troll factories, phony news muddies the social and political discourse. This book defines fake news and reveals the people behind the spread of disinformation.
Confirmation bias is the tendency of people to interpret, remember, and specifically seek out information that confirms beliefs they already have.
Social media platforms have become the primary way many of us get our information, not only about our family and friends but about world wide news and events.
From Russian bots and fake news to cyberbullying and online shaming, readers will discover who is weaponizing social media and why.
Memes and Internet satire are everywhere online. This book take a closer look at this modern phenomenon in a thoughtful and accessible way.
How does something or someone go from a random post on social media to a household name? What does it mean for the person who posted it?
From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace.- ABC-CLIO
This book provides an introduction to the issue of internet addiction, an increasingly common problem.- ABC-CLIO
