This book analyzes the complex causes and effects of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks both domestically and internationally, and examines the subsequent wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
Discusses the Armenian genocide at the hands of the Turkish government during WWI.
Historical perspectives about the Russian Revolution.
"This volume will explore this notoriously gender-bending comedy from numerous perspectives, offering historical, comparative, stylistic, psychological, and philosophical perspectives (among many others) while also examining the ways the work has been performed in various media and eras."
This book series includes Bolivia, Croatia, Honduras, Laos, Libya, Namibia, Singapore, Malaysia, Arab Gulf States, and Turkey. ABC-CLIO
In this book, contemporary representations of Bolivian art, music, religion, literature, festivals, theater, and cinema document how history and geography have shaped Bolivia's modern culture.
This book looks examines religion, as well as daily routines, cuisine, dress, media, sports, festivals, literature and oral storytelling, traditional crafts, visual arts, and music and dance.
Learn about the people, games, clothes, foods, clothing patterns, recipes and more from Chaucer's England.
Learn about the people, games, clothes, foods, clothing patterns, recipes and more from Elizabethan England.
Available in print and ebook.
From book description: "Throughout history, there have been many notable revolutions...These volumes explore how rebellions turned to revolutions, what led to those confrontations, and their many, long-lasting ramifications. Documents examined include historical reports, speeches, court cases, legislative debates, and more."
Examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. Facts on File (Infobase)
Historical Perspectives about WWII in Europe.
Examine food from countries around the world.
This book discusses the famine and genocide that occurred in Ukraine between 1932 and 1933, and relates how a natural disaster was weaponized by the Soviet Union under the rule of Joseph Stalin to punish an entire people.
This series of books examines the history and events leading up to modern conflicts in Latin America, Sub Saharan Africa, Asia and Oceania, North America and Europe.
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
This informative book offers a collection of documents on the origins and conduct of the Iraq War.
From Islamic extremism in Algeria to civil war in Iraq, this volume provides in-depth coverage of political and cultural conflict in the Middle East.
Provides a close examination with documents and historical context about the Bosnian Genocide, the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Darfur Genocide, the East Timor Genocide, the Guatemalan Genocide, the Herero Genocide, the Holocaust, the Kurdish Genocide, and the Rwandan Genocide.
This book spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population.
This resources focuses on more than one idea or experience of trans identity and trans history.
This book includes essays, primary source documents, and chronology for WWI.
World War I examines one of the most pivotal points in 20th-century history, exploring the social, cultural, military, and political impacts of this war on American society, as well as the role the United States played in the conflict.
Historical perspectives about the Russian Revolution.
Historical Perspectives about WWII in Europe.
Available in print and ebook.
From book description: "Throughout history, there have been many notable revolutions...These volumes explore how rebellions turned to revolutions, what led to those confrontations, and their many, long-lasting ramifications. Documents examined include historical reports, speeches, court cases, legislative debates, and more."
Examines the relationship between the media, propaganda, and the military since before the American Revolution through today.
Examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. Facts on File (Infobase)
This series of books examines the history and events leading up to modern conflicts in Latin America, Sub Saharan Africa, Asia and Oceania, North America and Europe.
This informative book offers a collection of documents on the origins and conduct of the Iraq War.
From Islamic extremism in Algeria to civil war in Iraq, this volume provides in-depth coverage of political and cultural conflict in the Middle East.
Provides a close examination with documents and historical context about the Bosnian Genocide, the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Darfur Genocide, the East Timor Genocide, the Guatemalan Genocide, the Herero Genocide, the Holocaust, the Kurdish Genocide, and the Rwandan Genocide.
This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This book spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population.
This book includes essays, primary source documents, and chronology for WWI.
World War I examines one of the most pivotal points in 20th-century history, exploring the social, cultural, military, and political impacts of this war on American society, as well as the role the United States played in the conflict.
This book analyzes the complex causes and effects of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks both domestically and internationally, and examines the subsequent wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
"This book argues that storytelling is an important resource in coming to terms with the loss of the feeling of living a grounded existence where the future remains relatively stable and predictable. Faced with the specter of climate catastrophe, we lose confidence in the future-a well-documented response in the environmental movement, for example. Yet stories, and in particular sophisticated fictional stories, can help us negotiate that uncertainty: they offer affective and imaginative tools that channel the instability of our climate future and invite audiences to accept its fundamental uncertainty"
Due to today’s globalized economic systems, how and what you buy has repercussions that impact people all over the world.
From financial theft, destruction of systems, fraud, corporate espionage, and ransoming of information to the more personal, such as stalking and web-cam spying as well as cyberterrorism, this work covers the full spectrum of crimes committed via cyberspace.- ABC-CLIO
Available in print and as an ebook.
Book description: "This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Climate Change... provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change. It includes 558 essays and extensive back matter... with a comprehensive and convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change."
This title provides an overview of economic, political, and environmental drivers of America's energy picture, from trends in the production and consumption of fossil fuels and renewables to the state of the national energy grid.
Examines climate change, fossil fuels, endangered species, and renewable energy, and examines how these issues are affecting countries around the world.
This book examines how gender and LGBTQ identities are developed, fought for, perceived, and policed in countries as diverse as France, Brazil, Russia, Jordan, Iraq, and China. ABC-CLIO
This series of books examines the history and events leading up to modern conflicts in Latin America, Sub Saharan Africa, Asia and Oceania, North America and Europe.
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
From Islamic extremism in Algeria to civil war in Iraq, this volume provides in-depth coverage of political and cultural conflict in the Middle East.
"Climate change, racism, and the COVID-19 pandemic have shown more than ever the need for a global shift in education policy and practice. This book provides a conceptual framework of global education and learning and the role it can play in addressing these social and environmental challenges."
This book spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population.
Comprising essays on a variety of topics such as immigration, gun control, abortion, race relations, the environment, and gender.
"A comprehensive look at torture, this book explains where we are as a society with regard to use, how we got here, and where the state of thought on it may be in the future." - ABC-CLIO
"Urban Sustainability and Justice presents an innovative yet practical approach to incorporate equity and social justice into sustainable development in urban areas, in line with the commitments of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and the New Urban Agenda."
