We have many print and digital resources available for research.
Unlike a basic online search, the media center materials have been evaluated for credibility and relevance to the SHS curriculum.
The most effective researchers consider their informational needs and choose a research type most appropriate to their needs.
We have databases, print books, and ebooks in the media center. I compare the three formats below.
Key Take Aways:
Link to the slides embedded below.
A database is an online searchable collection of information (articles, book experts, journals, images, etc). We have subscriptions to over 20 databases through the school and the state for student use.
Many students find databases easy to navigate, compared to print books and ebooks. They are often a good starting place for current and historical research.
Advantages for Database Research:
Considerations:
The print books in the media center may also be great resources for your research. We have a wide range of books about a variety of subjects. Some books explore a limited topic extensively, and others cover a wide variety of topics but without as much depth. Consider your research needs and current knowledge about a topic when selecting a book.
Advantages for Print Books:
Considerations:
The media center reference ebook collection has many of the same advantages and benefits as the print books. These are well-researched resources that have been selected for our collection specifically for research. Each of the reference ebooks is a multi-user ebook, meaning multiple students can have the same title open at the same time.
Advantages for ebooks:
Considerations:
