The media center has a number of databases for student use. There are different types of databases available for different topics and types of research.
Below you will find information about the different types of databases.
These databases have content that is written for this database specifically. There is one article for each topic, although there may be other articles closely related. These databases may also offer curated links to other outside resources.
Encyclopedia databases are great for the first stage of your research. They may help you:
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource. Choose the one that best fits your informational needs.
Some of our most popular encyclopedia databases are linked below.
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern world geography.
Explore religions of the world.
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.
Explore controversies from American history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.
Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.
The article databases are best when you already have:
This type of database is most common in academic university libraries and public libraries.
Some of our most popular article databases are listed below.
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.
Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.
Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.
Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.
