LibGuides: World At War: Cold War

Encyclopedia Resources

Database and eBook Research

Use the following databases for your research.

ABC-CLIO, Infobase Learning, and Britannica are great Encyclopedia databases to build a good foundation of understanding.

Gale databases are great article databases to use when you know a little bit about your topic already.

The eBooks are also great sources for reference information.

Databases

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in American History

Explore controversies from American history.

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Biography in Context

Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.

History of the Cold War from the JFK Library
History related to the Cold War during the 60s. Additional links in the side bar include "Cold War in Berlin" and "The Cuban Missle Crisis."
Cold War History from the BBC
Includes context, key events, and key figures in the Cold War.
From Coalition to Rivalry: The Soviet Union and United States at the Beginning of the Cold War
Transcript from a presentation at the 25th Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall Symposium.
Wilson Center Cold War History
Interactive Timeline 1945-1991 about the Cold War.
In Pictures: The History of the Cold War
Images with captions of some of the key events from the Cold War era.
World War, Cold War, 1939-1953
A history from the FBI.
Cold War Flames on US Soil: The Oakdale Prison Riot
"In the 1980s, Cold War tensions led to thousands of Cubans languishing in American prisons, unable to be released or repatriated. Uprisings followed."
Security Studies: A Syllabus
"National security, borders and migration, climate change and global food supplies, war and terrorism. These make up the academic field of security studies."
Security Studies: Foundations and Key Concepts
"Security studies originated in the era of Cold War geopolitics and decolonization. This annotated bibliography introduces readers to scholarship in the field."
Revisiting Churchill’s “Iron Curtain” Speech
"The famous “Iron Curtain” speech that propelled us into the Cold War highlights Churchill’s near roguish fight to challenge the U.S.S.R."
Potsdam and the Origins of the Cold War
"An exploration of Potsdam and its effects on the Cold War."
Space Is The Place: The US, USSR, and Space Exploration
"Even during the Cold War, US and Russian cooperation succeeded in space exploration."

Newspapers.com
Accessible in the Shrewsbury High School building.

Daily Life Through American History in Primary Documents by Randall M. Miller; Theodore J. Zeman; Francis J. Sicius; Jolyon P. Girard
ISBN: 9781610690331

Publication Date: 2011-12-12

Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO

Race to the Moon
"After World War II, there was non-violent, political hostility between the United States and the Soviet Union (USSR), which became known as the Cold War. During this contentious time, both nations created rockets for long-range military weaponry. The Cold War catalyzed the expansion of rocket technology and each country’s desire to conquer outer space. "
Space Race
"From 1945 to 1991, the United States and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) engaged in the Cold War, a conflict in which the communist Soviet Union and the democratic United States competed for influence over countries around the world. During this era, the US and USSR also took their rivalry beyond earth into space through a series of aeronautic developments and flight tests known as the Space Race."
Cuban Immigration
"At the end of a six-year armed conflict called the Cuban Revolution, Fidel Castro’s 26th of July Movement ousted Cuban President Fulgencio Batista on January 1, 1959, and ushered in a new government. Within months, as Castro began to implement policies and align with the communist Soviet Union, hundreds of thousands fled Cuba for the United States."
The Atomic Bomb and the Nuclear Age
"The Cold War of the 1950s and 1960s between the US and the Soviet Union was largely forged by the fear of nuclear war. Each nation raced to develop more and more powerful bombs pointed at one another’s shores."
Tim O'Brien's The Things They Carry Primary Sources
A Primary Source set from the Digital Public Library in America with digitized artifacts related to the themes from the book.

Beyond America

Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide

Examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. Facts on File (Infobase)

Modern Genocide

Provides a close examination with documents and historical context about the genocides from around the world.

American Experience by Time Period

An era that changed America forever is analyzed through the words of those who led, participated in, and opposed the protest movements that made the 1960s a signature epoch in U.S. culture. includes commentary and context for primary source documents.

Opinions Throughout History: War and the Military

This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

The 1960s

This Infobase book includes a variety of topics related to the 1960s.

The 1970s

This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1970s.

The 1980s

This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1980s.

The 1990s

This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1990s.

Postwar America

This reference work provides coverage of the developments in U.S. affairs from the outbreak of the Cold War to the early twenty-first century.

Postwar America: Handbook to Life in America

The period following World War II was marked by great social change as a result of the civil rights movement, the feminist movement, and the youth opposition to the Vietnam War.