LibGuides: World At War: World War I and World War II

Encyclopedia Resources

Database and eBook Research

Use the following databases for your research.

ABC-CLIO, Infobase Learning, and Britannica are great Encyclopedia databases to build a good foundation of understanding.

Gale databases are great article databases to use when you know a little bit about your topic already.

The eBooks are also great sources for reference information.

Databases

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in American History

Explore controversies from American history.

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Biography in Context

Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.

Primary Sources

World War I
Overview of World War I history from Digital History.
BBC WWI
Resources and videos from a BBC production about World War I.
World War I Memorial
Resources related to a centennial memorial for WWI in Washington DC.
World War I Museum
An interactive timeline from WWI from the World War I Museum and Memorial.
1914-1918
International Encyclopedia of the First World War.
World War II Key Events
Collection from the BBC.
World War II in Europe
Interactive Timeline from National Geographic
WWII in the Pacific
Interactive timeline from National Geographic.
Atlantic WWII
Articles from The Atlantic related to WWII.
World War II: In Depth
Resources and information from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Striking Women: Women and Work
History of Women in Work during World War I.
How World War I Revolutionized Medicine
"Advances during the “first mass killing of the 20th century” have saved countless lives since."
Edmund Dulac’s Fairy Tales Go to War
An article from JSTOR Daily about art from children's literature used as propaganda during WWI.
World War I and the 1920s
Articles about Social Welfare and Reform during World War I and the 1920s in US history.
Social Welfare History Project: World War II and the 1950s
Articles about social welfare and reforms during this time period.

Primary Source Resources
Links, eBooks, and Databases from the SHS Media Center to explore primary sources.

Newspapers.com
Accessible in the Shrewsbury High School building.

Daily Life Through American History in Primary Documents by Randall M. Miller; Theodore J. Zeman; Francis J. Sicius; Jolyon P. Girard
ISBN: 9781610690331

Publication Date: 2011-12-12

Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO

War Era Food Posters
Posters related to food that were designed during World War I and World War II.
World War I
Primary Sources from World War I from the British Library.
Armistice Day
Online exhibit of source images and more from Armistice Day on Google Arts and Culture.
World War I Online Exhibit
Online collection of primary source documents and images from Europeana.
African American Soldiers in World War I
A primary source online exhibit from the Digital Public Library of America.
World War I: America Heads to War
Online primary source exhibit from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
Patriotic Labor: America During World War I
Primary source online exhibit from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
World War I Document Archive
From The Great War Primary Documents Archive.
Illustrated Newspapers from World War I
From the Illustrated News of London.

Newspapers.com
Accessible in the Shrewsbury High School building.

Daily Life Through American History in Primary Documents by Randall M. Miller; Theodore J. Zeman; Francis J. Sicius; Jolyon P. Girard
ISBN: 9781610690331

Publication Date: 2011-12-12

Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO

Georgia's Homefront World War II
Primary Source exhibition from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
World War II’s Eastern Front: Operation Barbarossa
Primary Source exhibition from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
Elie Wiesel's Night and the Holocaust
Primary Source exhibition from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
The Rise of Italian Fascism and Its Influence on Europe
Primary Source exhibition from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
Japanese American Internment During World War II
Primary Source exhibition from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
World War II: Women on the Home Front
Primary Source exhibition from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
Mexican Labor and World War II: The Bracero Program
Primary Source set from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
WWII New York Times
New York Times archives WWII

General Reference eBooks

World War I

This book includes essays, primary source documents, and chronology for WWI.

World War I examines one of the most pivotal points in 20th-century history, exploring the social, cultural, military, and political impacts of this war on American society, as well as the role the United States played in the conflict.

Competing Voices from World War II in Europe

Historical Perspectives about WWII in Europe.

American Experiences eBooks

Opinions Throughout History: War and the Military

This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America

Examines the relationship between the media, propaganda, and the military since before the American Revolution through today.

Reforming America: a Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era [2 Volumes]

A look at the individuals, themes, and moments that shaped Progressive Era in the United States. ABC-CLIO

The Great Depression and World War II: Handbook to Life in America

Infobase ebook about life during the Great Depression and World War II.

Age of Reform: Handbook to Life in America

Explores reform movements from the early decades of the 20th century.

Daily Life in the Progressive Era

This book provides a historical examination of everyday life to reveal how and why Americans during the Progressive Era structured their world and made their lives meaningful.

Propaganda and Conflict

"This volume presents the latest research in propaganda studies, featuring contributions from a range of leading scholars and covering the most cutting-edge scholarship in the study of propaganda from World War I to the present."

Opinions Throughout History: War and the Military

This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.