Use the resources on this page as you research the historical context of John Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men.
The strongest researchers spend their energy at the beginning of the research process reading around the topic.
Research topics can often feel daunting if you do not start with a strong foundation of understanding. So take time at the beginning of your research to access sources that are well oraganized with basic background information about your topic - such as an encyclopedia database.
During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Explore controversies from American and World history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
Infobase ebook about life during the Great Depression and World War II.
Capstone Interactive ebook which includes the history surrounding the Migrant Mother picture and the Great Depression.
ABC-CLIO eBook that includes primary sources and historical context related to themes in literature from the Great Depression.
Follet Shelf ebook (search for book) - book about the history of crime and the criminal justice system in America.
Infobase Facts on File
ABC-CLIO
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of the American economy.
Facts on File (Infobase)
Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of discrimination against the mentally ill in America.
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
This title explores the history of gender roles in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This title explores the history of Mental Health in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
