The following resources are best when you already have:
Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.
Books and eBooks are also strong resources during this stage in research. Use the table of contents and index to find and select the most appropriate information.
Use the Keyword Generator link at the bottom of the page to make the most of your searches on Gale, in the ebooks, and online.
Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Curated resources related to the study of psychology.
Curated content related to diversity, including feminism, LGBT, race, class, culture, health, disability and more.
Search all Gale databases.
The following websites may help you with further research.
The following resources include collection of primary sources (often with context) about the Great Depression.
Infobase ebook about life during the Great Depression and World War II.
Capstone Interactive ebook which includes the history surrounding the Migrant Mother picture and the Great Depression.
ABC-CLIO eBook that includes primary sources and historical context related to themes in literature from the Great Depression.
Follet Shelf ebook (search for book) - book about the history of crime and the criminal justice system in America.
Infobase Facts on File
ABC-CLIO
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of the American economy.
Facts on File (Infobase)
Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of discrimination against the mentally ill in America.
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
This title explores the history of gender roles in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This title explores the history of Mental Health in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of the American economy.
This reference work examines significant social movements in American history, covering each movement’s goals, tactics, and effects, as well as its successes and failures.
Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
Infobase ebook about the history of poverty in America.
Explore the history of American workers from colonial times through the the present day. Facts on File (Infobase)
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of discrimination against the mentally ill in America.
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
This book discusses key points and controversies in the history of free speech in the United States. A timeline of significant events is also included.
This volume in the Opinions Throughout History series looks at the evolution of policies and attitudes about workers, the American workplace, and wages. Issues covered include income inequality and wage stagnation, unemployment insurance, labor unions and movements, and the ongoing effort to provide training and education for American workers.
Available in print and as an ebook.
From the book description: "Law enforcement is one of the most controversial topics of the modern age as the United States and many other nations struggle with persistent issues at the intersection of racial and social and criminal justice. This volume of Opinions Throughout History takes a look at the history and philosophy of policing in America from the vigilante slave catchers of the American South, to the first modern police departments of the Northeast, to the drug war of the 1980s and 1990s."
