Synthesis Essay

"The American Presidents presents essays on the life and politics of each U.S. president, in chronological order from George Washington to Joe Biden.

This book provides information and history about a federal agency that shaped US policy toward Native Americans.

Available as a print book and an ebook.
From book description: "Capital Punishment has been the ultimate consequence for criminals in the United States since before the nation was established. The original documents in these volumes review both the policies and principles of capital punishment that continue to evolve."

Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO

This reference work examines significant social movements in American history, covering each movement’s goals, tactics, and effects, as well as its successes and failures.

Examines the relationship between the media, propaganda, and the military since before the American Revolution through today.

Examines often underrepresented but influential groups, whose recent rise in visibility has mirrored the profound changes occurring within the fabric of American society.

Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.

This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.

"This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through Danica Roem's speech in 2017, celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History."

Available as a print book and an ebook.
From book description: "LGBTQ Events chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities."

This sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the 1970s to the present, when LGBTQ issues figure prominently in politics.

This two-volume set provides a chronological view of the foreign policy/national security doctrines of key American presidents from Washington to Obama.

The Opinions Throughout History book series explores the evolving discussions about key controversies from US History. Each chapter includes a source document, discussion, and analysis. Books include Immigration | Gender: Roles and Rights | Voter's Rights | Robotics and Artificial Intelligence | War and the Military | Free Speech and Censorship | Mental Health | Guns | Law Enforcement | Worker Rights

This book discusses key points and controversies in the history of free speech in the United States. A timeline of significant events is also included.

This title explores the history of gender roles in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

Available as a print book and ebook.
From book description: "From the Revolutionary War to the national crisis brought about by mass shootings in the 21st century, Guns in America provides a historical look at the controversial debate over gun rights and gun control."

This title explores the history of immigration in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

Available in print and as an ebook.
From the book description: "Law enforcement is one of the most controversial topics of the modern age as the United States and many other nations struggle with persistent issues at the intersection of racial and social and criminal justice. This volume of Opinions Throughout History takes a look at the history and philosophy of policing in America from the vigilante slave catchers of the American South, to the first modern police departments of the Northeast, to the drug war of the 1980s and 1990s."

This title explores the history of Mental Health in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

This title explores the history of advanced technology in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

This volume tackles not only the topic of voter suppression, but how public opinion influenced action on voters' rights, from the founding of the country, when most states limited the right to vote to property-owning males, to the establishment in 2017 of the Presidential Advisory Commission of Election Integrity, and beyond, to how voter suppression efforts effected the 2018 elections.

This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.

This volume in the Opinions Throughout History series looks at the evolution of policies and attitudes about workers, the American workplace, and wages. Issues covered include income inequality and wage stagnation, unemployment insurance, labor unions and movements, and the ongoing effort to provide training and education for American workers.

"Defining Documents in American History: Prison Reform provides an in-depth analysis of the primary documents that capture the debates, activism, and legislation surrounding the system of imprisonment in the United States. "

"This volume presents the latest research in propaganda studies, featuring contributions from a range of leading scholars and covering the most cutting-edge scholarship in the study of propaganda from World War I to the present."

This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.

This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.

ABC-CLIO ebook. History of Revolts and Rebellions in America. Volume 1: 1600s - 1840. Volume 2: 1840 - 1914, Volume 3: 1915 - 2006

This book provides an analytical guide to the modern political campaign, chronologically covering key federal, state, and local campaign laws, election commission rules, and the court decisions interpreting them. Through 2010.

A critical tool for the study of U.S. history, this volume offers an analysis of important documents and decisions in U.S. foreign policy from George Washington to Barack Obama.

Providing key data, insights, and ways of thinking about women and sports.

Explores the women's rights movements from the mid 1800s through the 1960s and 1970s.

Explore the history of American workers from colonial times through the the present day. Facts on File (Infobase)

This encyclopedia explores the rich and varied cultural traditions of folklife in America.