Use the resources below for your research.
Start with encyclopedia style databases to get a basic understanding of your research topic.
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Explore controversies from American and World history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
The following books are focused on either the 1920s or around that time.
Roaring Twenties: Handbook to Life in America
by
The Jazz Age
by
Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age: from the End of World War I to the Great Crash
by
Reforming America: a Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era [2 Volumes]
by
The Harlem Renaissance
by
Critical Insights: Harlem Renaissance
by
Additional Links:
Explore article databases when you know a little about your topic.
These databases give access to articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.
Search all Gale databases.
The following ebooks cover the entirety of US history and may include information relevant to your research.
Look through the books linked at the bottom of the page for more sources.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
by
The Ethnic and Group Identity Movements
by
Race and Ethnicity in America [4 Volumes]
by
Opinions Throughout History Book Series
by
Daily Life Through American History in Primary Documents
by
Providing key data, insights, and ways of thinking about women and sports.
This volume tackles not only the topic of voter suppression, but how public opinion influenced action on voters' rights, from the founding of the country, when most states limited the right to vote to property-owning males, to the establishment in 2017 of the Presidential Advisory Commission of Election Integrity, and beyond, to how voter suppression efforts effected the 2018 elections.
This title explores the history of immigration in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This title explores the history of gender roles in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
This book discusses key points and controversies in the history of free speech in the United States. A timeline of significant events is also included.
Available as a print book and ebook.
From book description: "From the Revolutionary War to the national crisis brought about by mass shootings in the 21st century, Guns in America provides a historical look at the controversial debate over gun rights and gun control."
Available in print and as an ebook.
From the book description: "This issue of Opinions Throughout History looks at the evolution of policies and attitudes about workers, the American workplace, and wages. Issues covered will include income inequality and wage stagnation, unemployment insurance, labor unions and movements, and the ongoing effort to provide training and education for American workers."
Available in print and as an ebook.
From the book description: "Law enforcement is one of the most controversial topics of the modern age as the United States and many other nations struggle with persistent issues at the intersection of racial and social and criminal justice. This volume of Opinions Throughout History takes a look at the history and philosophy of policing in America from the vigilante slave catchers of the American South, to the first modern police departments of the Northeast, to the drug war of the 1980s and 1990s."
Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.
This two-volume set provides a chronological view of the foreign policy/national security doctrines of key American presidents from Washington to Obama.
Explores the women's rights movements from the mid 1800s through the 1960s and 1970s.
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of discrimination against the mentally ill in America.
Explore the history of American workers from colonial times through the the present day. Facts on File (Infobase)
Examines often underrepresented but influential groups, whose recent rise in visibility has mirrored the profound changes occurring within the fabric of American society.
Infobase ebook about the history of poverty in America.
Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
This reference work examines significant social movements in American history, covering each movement’s goals, tactics, and effects, as well as its successes and failures.
A critical tool for the study of U.S. history, this volume offers an analysis of important documents and decisions in U.S. foreign policy from George Washington to Barack Obama.
This book provides an analytical guide to the modern political campaign, chronologically covering key federal, state, and local campaign laws, election commission rules, and the court decisions interpreting them. Through 2010.
ABC-CLIO ebook about the history of the American economy.
Includes topics such as proposed sentencing, prison preforms, stand your ground, supreme court decisions, current data, and more. ABC-CLIO
Follet Shelf ebook (search for book) - book about the history of crime and the criminal justice system in America.
"This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through Danica Roem's speech in 2017, celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History."
"Defining Documents in American History: Prison Reform provides an in-depth analysis of the primary documents that capture the debates, activism, and legislation surrounding the system of imprisonment in the United States. "
