Use the following links to access online resources for your research.
During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.
Search all ABC-CLIO databases from this link.
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.
Explore controversies from American history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
The following resources are best when you already have:
Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.
Content from popular magazines.
Curated resources related to the study of modern pop culture.
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.
Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.
Curated content related to diversity, including feminism, LGBT, race, class, culture, health, disability and more.
Search all Gale databases.
"This book argues that storytelling is an important resource in coming to terms with the loss of the feeling of living a grounded existence where the future remains relatively stable and predictable. Faced with the specter of climate catastrophe, we lose confidence in the future-a well-documented response in the environmental movement, for example. Yet stories, and in particular sophisticated fictional stories, can help us negotiate that uncertainty: they offer affective and imaginative tools that channel the instability of our climate future and invite audiences to accept its fundamental uncertainty"
An analysis of political implications of children's film.
An exhaustive work covering the full range of topics relating to vampires, including literature, film and television, and folklore.
This book explores how movies have both reflected and helped America's political, economic, and social history.
Contains over forty essays that explore the history, popularity, and culture of video games. Search for "Video Game."
Provides an overview of violence in movies, music, television, and video games, and discusses the efforts of the government, parents, and television networks to censor or control the availability or content of various entertainment media.
This book discusses minority athletes, coaches, sports journalists, and others in U.S. sport. It explores the history of minority involvement in sports at every level: the barriers broken, the stereotypes that have been shattered, and the difficulties that these pioneers have endured.
This reference work provides coverage of the developments in U.S. affairs from the outbreak of the Cold War to the early twenty-first century.
The period following World War II was marked by great social change as a result of the civil rights movement, the feminist movement, and the youth opposition to the Vietnam War.
This book examines Little Rock Nine, the Civil Rights Movement, and historical context.
A biography of Ceasar Chavez and the history of the United Farm Workers founded in 1962.
An era that changed America forever is analyzed through the words of those who led, participated in, and opposed the protest movements that made the 1960s a signature epoch in U.S. culture. includes commentary and context for primary source documents.
This Infobase book includes a variety of topics related to the 1960s.
This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1970s.
This book explores the historical context and primary sources related to the themes of Chicano Literature including Bless Me, Ultima, The Migrant Earth, The Revolt of the Cockroach People, and The House on Mango Street.
This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1980s.
This Infobase ebook explores the social, political, and economic history of the 1990s.
This work offers a sweeping collection of A–Z entries and primary source documents that presents a thorough examination of all the individuals, groups, and events surrounding the 9/11 terrorist attacks.
This book analyzes the complex causes and effects of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks both domestically and internationally, and examines the subsequent wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
This informative book offers a collection of documents on the origins and conduct of the Iraq War.
Changing international affairs and the forces of technological innovation shaped the lives of Americans in the last decades of the 20th century. Facts on File (Infobase)
Examines the relationship between the media, propaganda, and the military since before the American Revolution through today.
This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today—everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism.
The family values movement is a conservative movement that strongly supports traditional social values.
This book uses evidence-based documentation to provide a full and impartial examination of race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality.
This book explores the moral complexities of situations faced by law enforcement officers every day across the United States. It extends our understanding of the basis of police accountability by grounding it in principles of the social contract and constitutional democracy.
This series explores helps readers better understand the issues surrounding banned books and the arguments in favor of intellectual freedom. Books in this series explore books that have been suppressed on political grounds, religious grounds, sexual grounds, and social grounds.
"This compilation of essays takes a closer look at this pivotal point in African American history, as well as its origins, identity, portrayal, of women, and rediscovered authors. This title seeks to offer not only expanded readings of the central themes that have long captivated the attention of scholars across time, but also providing valuable insight into the texts, authors, and critical perspectives too often overlooked. "
"Overview essays consider the cultural contexts surrounding the novel and the critical reception of Lee's work. This collection also includes character studies of Atticus Finch; a consideration of narrative strategies in both the novel and the film version of Mockingbird; and studies of sexuality, race, and ethics as found in the novel."
"This volume will explore this notoriously gender-bending comedy from numerous perspectives, offering historical, comparative, stylistic, psychological, and philosophical perspectives (among many others) while also examining the ways the work has been performed in various media and eras."
This book looks at how literature has wrestled with the themes of death and dying.
This book explores the hero's journey in literature. The hero's journey, a quest that leads to self-discovery, has been central to literature since the earliest epics.
Critical essays featuring Ezra Pound, e.e. cummings, Edna St. Vincent Millay, and Carl Sandburg and their abiding influences.
This volume surveys the ongoing contributions and critical legacy of the United States' diverse women poets
This volume explores the genre's recent history and development, as succeeding generations of poets have taken up the American idiom and molded it into their own unique modes of expression.
From Arthur Miller to Tony Kushner, this volume chronicles the playwrights and plays that shaped America drama to the present time.
Firmly rooted in the modernist era of the early and mid-20th century, luminaries such as Hart Crane and Elizabeth Bishop set the stage for what would be defined as modern American poetry.
This book series examines the lives, works, and achievements of authors. Includes JD Salinger, JK Rowling, Jack London, Jane Austen, Kurt Vonnegut, Mary Shelley, Maya Angelou, Robert Frost, TS Eliot, Tim O'Brien, and Walt Whitman.
Explore the work of Doris Lessing through essays that examine the realistic, mystical, science fiction, and political aspects of her books.
Graphic Novel version of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.
Graphic novel version of Shakespeare's Julius Caesar.
Graphic novel version of Shakespeare's Macbeth.
Graphic Novel Version of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet.
This volume examines the defining themes and styles of African-American literature during this period, which laid the groundwork for contemporary African-American writers.
Historical context and primary sources related to themes from The Life of Frederick Douglass, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. ABC-CLIO
Examines the historical context and primary sources related to the themes of A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, The Yellow Wallpaper, The Jungle, and A Lost Lady. ABC-CLIO
Primary Source documents related to the themes of books that where written during the Jazz Age. Books referenced include: Babbit, The Great Gatsby, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, The Sun Also Rises, and Passing.
ABC-CLIO eBook that includes primary sources and historical context related to themes in As I Lay Dying, Of Mice and Men, Grapes of Wrath, and A Native Son.
This book explores the historical context and primary sources related to the themes of Chicano Literature including Bless Me, Ultima, The Migrant Earth, The Revolt of the Cockroach People, and The House on Mango Street.
An interactive ebook that explores the themes, structure, and critical views about Of Mice and Men. Includes audio, videos, weblinks and more. Search for "Lighthouse Of Mice and Men" in Follett Shelf.
An interactive ebook that explores the themes, structure, and critical views about To Kill a Mockingbird. Includes audio, videos, weblinks and more. Search for "Lighthouse To Kill a Mockingbird" in Follett Shelf.
An interactive ebook that explores the themes, structure, and critical views about Night. Includes audio, videos, weblinks and more. Search for "Lighthouse Night" in Follett Shelf.
Contains articles that discuss thirty common motifs or themes as they appear in mythologies from around the world. Search for "Mythology."
