ABC-CLIO, Infobase Learning, and Britannica are great Encyclopedia databases to build a good foundation of understanding.
Gale databases are great article databases to use when you know a little bit about your topic already.
The eBooks are also great sources for reference information.
Additional Links:
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Explore controversies from American history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.
Daily Life Through American History in Primary Documents
by
Primary Source documents related to the themes of books that where written during the Jazz Age. Books referenced include: Babbit, The Great Gatsby, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, The Sun Also Rises, and Passing.
Explores the history of the Jazz Age extending from the end of World War I in 1918 to the Wall Street crash in 1929.
From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
Includes topics such as proposed sentencing, prison preforms, stand your ground, supreme court decisions, current data, and more. ABC-CLIO
Explore the history of American workers from colonial times through the the present day. Facts on File (Infobase)
Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
Infobase ebook about the history of poverty in America.
Explores the women's rights movements from the mid 1800s through the 1960s and 1970s.
A look at the individuals, themes, and moments that shaped Progressive Era in the United States. ABC-CLIO
Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO
Examines the historical context and primary sources related to the themes of A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, The Yellow Wallpaper, The Jungle, and A Lost Lady. ABC-CLIO
This book provides a historical examination of everyday life to reveal how and why Americans during the Progressive Era structured their world and made their lives meaningful.
Examines often underrepresented but influential groups, whose recent rise in visibility has mirrored the profound changes occurring within the fabric of American society.
This encyclopedia is a unique collection of entries covering the arrival, adaptation, and integration of immigrants into American culture from the 1500s to 2010. ABC-CLIO
ABC-CLIO ebook. History of Revolts and Rebellions in America. Volume 1: 1600s - 1840. Volume 2: 1840 - 1914, Volume 3: 1915 - 2006
This reference work examines significant social movements in American history, covering each movement’s goals, tactics, and effects, as well as its successes and failures.
Includes information and debates related to civil liberties. ABC-CLIO
This set provides an overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. It contextualizes the experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture; includes all people and ethnic groups that experienced minority status.
"This compilation of essays takes a closer look at this pivotal point in African American history, as well as its origins, identity, portrayal, of women, and rediscovered authors. This title seeks to offer not only expanded readings of the central themes that have long captivated the attention of scholars across time, but also providing valuable insight into the texts, authors, and critical perspectives too often overlooked. "
"This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through Danica Roem's speech in 2017, celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History."
