LibGuides: Immigration: United States

Encyclopedia Resources

Read Around Your Topic

During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:

Build a foundation of understanding.
Find a path for your research.
Identify important key terms, events, and people for your research.

Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.

ABC-CLIO: American History
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
ABC-CLIO: Issues
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in History
Explore controversies from American and World history.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.

Additional Websites

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
"Documenting voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression." Primary Sources
Tenement Museum
Resources from a NYC museum about American immigration.

Article Resources

Explore Deeper

The following resources are best when you already have:

A basic understanding of what you are looking for.
A collection of key terms, events, and people to add to your search.

Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.