LibGuides: Abuse and Neglect: Home

Based on the themes from The Glass Castle, use the resources below to explore child abuse and neglect.

ABC-CLIO, Infobase Learning, and Britannica are great Encyclopedia databases to build a good foundation of understanding.

Gale databases are great article databases to use when you know a little bit about your topic already.

JSTOR is a great resource for more academic research into abuse. You need a Boston Public Library eCard. Get one free here.

ABC-CLIO: Issues
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.
JSTOR from Boston Public Library
JSTOR is a scholarly journal database with great resources for academic research. You must have Boston Public Library eCard for JSTOR. Register for the eCard here.

Child Abuse and Molestation Article
From the ebook, Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia. This article thoroughly looks at types and history of abuse in America.
APA Understanding and Preventing Child Abuse and Neglect
This is the American Psychology Association resource on child abuse. It gives basic information about abuse. Click on sources for well-referenced additional resources for your research.
WHO: Child Maltreatment
For a global look at child abuse, use this resource from the World Health Organization.
Origins of Child Abuse JSTOR Daily
This article explores the history of the US response to child abuse. It includes links to scholarly research.
JSTOR Daily
News commentary with links to academic research.
PubMed
Link to PubMed, a free database for medical research. Filter by "Free Full Text" to read complete articles. This page will include studies of child abuse from a medical and psychological framework.