LibGuides: Into the Wild History of Conformity: Home

Research Topic

Into the Wild: History of Conformity

How did the history of industrialization and capitalism during and after the 2nd Industrial Revolution promote consumerism and conformity?

Databases

Encyclopedia Databases for Research

The following Encyclopedia databases may have articles related to your topics or themes related to the 2nd Industrial Revolution, consumerism, Capitalism, and conformity.

ABC-CLIO: American History
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
ABC-CLIO: Issues
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in History
Explore controversies from American and World history.

Article Databases For Research

You may be able to find more content in the following databases, however, be prepared to try out a variety of search terms to get the best results. Use the keyword generator saved on this page to help develop key terms for your searches.

Gale US History In Context
A curated collection of resources about US history.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.
Gale Power Search
Search all Gale databases.
JSTOR from Boston Public Library
JSTOR is a scholarly journal database with great resources for academic research. You must have Boston Public Library eCard for JSTOR. Register for the eCard here.

Web Resources

Additional Articles

The Consumer Economy and Mass Entertainment
From Digital History. This article explores consumers and entertainment in the 1920s.
A Brief History of Consumer Culture
From the MIT Press Reader. "Over the course of the 20th century, capitalism preserved its momentum by molding the ordinary person into a consumer with an unquenchable thirst for more stuff."
Why Americans buy so much stuff: A short history
From NPR. This article is a transcript of an interview about the history of consumerism in the United States, starting mostly i the 1930s into present day.
Nancy Koehn Interview
This is a transcript of an interview on PBSs American Experience website. Nancy Koehn is a professor at Harvard Business School specializing in business history. This interview discusses the history of consumerism in America.
How the Second Industrial Revolution Changed Americans’ Lives
From History.com. This article explores the ways that innovations in production and transportation changed the United States.

Key Term Generator

Collect Key Terms

There may not be obvious go to resources or search terms for your research project. It may help a great deal to collect Key Terms to use in your searches while researching.

Key Term Generator
Click on this link to make a copy of the "Key Term Generator" sheet in your Drive. This document will help you organize key terms for your research topic for more effective searching.

Reference EBooks about Daily Life in America

The following reference ebooks may provide insight about your topic during various American eras. Look through multiple books to see how it evolved over time.

Daily Life Through American History in Primary Documents by Randall M. Miller; Theodore J. Zeman; Francis J. Sicius; Jolyon P. Girard
ISBN: 9781610690331

Publication Date: 2011-12-12

Get insight into how American Life in past eras really was. Eras included: Colonial Period through American Revolution, American Revolution to the Civil War, Civil War to World War I, and World War I to the Present. ABC-CLIO
Daily Life in the Industrial United States, 1870-1900 by Julie Husband; Jim O'Loughlin
ISBN: 9780313323027

Publication Date: 2004-09-30

First-hand accounts from workers, housewives, and children help illuminate the significant achievements of the era and their impact on the everyday lives of ordinary people.
Daily Life in the Progressive Era by Steven L. Piott
ISBN: 9780313381843

Publication Date: 2011-08-03

This book provides a historical examination of everyday life to reveal how and why Americans during the Progressive Era structured their world and made their lives meaningful.
Gilded Age by Rodney P. Carlisle
ISBN: 9781438117485

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
Age of Reform: Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
ISBN: 9781438119014

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Explores reform movements from the early decades of the 20th century.
Roaring Twenties: Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
ISBN: 9781438119021

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

From the series Handbook to Life in America. This book explores the way ordinary Americans lived, covering everything from the foods people ate to how they dressed and popular pastimes.
The Great Depression and World War II: Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
ISBN: 9781438126982

Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Postwar America: Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
ISBN: 9781438126999

The period following World War II was marked by great social change as a result of the civil rights movement, the feminist movement, and the youth opposition to the Vietnam War.
Contemporary America: Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
ISBN: 9781438127002

Changing international affairs and the forces of technological innovation shaped the lives of Americans in the last decades of the 20th century. Facts on File (Infobase)

Reference EBooks about US History

The following reference ebooks may provide historical context about your topics. Some books cover specific eras of history, others are surveys of US history as a whole.

Reforming America: a Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era [2 Volumes] by Jeffrey A. Johnson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440837210

Publication Date: 2017-03-20

A look at the individuals, themes, and moments that shaped Progressive Era in the United States. ABC-CLIO
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era by John D. Buenker; Joseph Buenker
ISBN: 9780765680518

Publication Date: 2005-07-31

This reference provides definitive coverage of the social and cultural developments of the period, as well as its political and economic history.
The Progressive Movement by Tim McNeese
ISBN: 9781438106366

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

This book explores the progressive movement that began at the end of the 19th century, the origins, and their influence on on society and politics.
Opinions Throughout History: Voting Rights by Micah Issit (Editor)
ISBN: 9781642650686

Publication Date: 2020-02-28

This title explores the history of voting rights in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
Opinions Throughout History Book Series by Micah Issit (Editor)
ISBN: 9781637001196

Publication Date: 2022-01-30

The Opinions Throughout History book series explores the evolving discussions about key controversies from US History. Each chapter includes a source document, discussion, and analysis. Books include Immigration | Gender: Roles and Rights | Voter's Rights | Robotics and Artificial Intelligence | War and the Military | Free Speech and Censorship | Mental Health | Guns | Law Enforcement | Worker Rights
Education and Learning in America by Catherine Reef Infobase ebook about the history of education in America.
Call Number: https://ebooks.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=15676&ISBN=9781438126906

ISBN: 9781438126906

Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
ISBN: 9780765680457

Publication Date: 2004-08-31

This reference work examines significant social movements in American history, covering each movement’s goals, tactics, and effects, as well as its successes and failures.