There are many digital resources provided through our public libraries.
Boston Public Library offers eCards to all residents of Massachusetts. You can get or renew your BPL eCard here.
Residents of Shrewsbury can also get a Shrewsbury Public Library Card. Residents can apply online. The link is here.
Once you receive your library card information by email or mail, click here for a Google Doc template to save your BPL ecard.
The JSTOR Database is the most notable resource for research from our public libraries. It is available with a Boston Public Library eCard (information about that is above).
JSTOR is a database that houses academic research and analysis. Most of the journals and articles available through JSTOR are related to the Humanities (Social Sciences, English, Arts, etc.).
JSTOR Daily is an online magazine with articles related to content from their database. Great place to go for analysis for many types different topics. Definitely worth a look if you are struggling to find sources. .
JSTOR and the other databases listed below house academic research (research conducted for other academics in a specialized field).
The following tools may help you better understand academic research. Some help better navigate results, others state the number of citations (which informs the impact of the research), and some link the research to news or commentary outside of the academic field.
JSTOR is a scholarly journal database with great resources for academic research. You must have Boston Public Library eCard for JSTOR. Get the eCard here: bit.ly/bpltutorials
Curated collection of scholarly and academic resources.
Curated collection of scholarly and academic resources.
Accessible in the Shrewsbury High School building.
Provides access to many scientific magazines and journals for authoritative science content.
