LibGuides: Elie Wiesel's Night Research: Home

Encyclopedia Databases

Start with encyclopedia style databases to get a basic understanding of your research topic.

Navigate with ease
Find strong articles to introduce your topic
Identify key terms for further research

Encyclopedia Databases

ABC-CLIO: World Geography

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern world geography.

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

Country Reports

Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in History

Explore controversies from American and World history.

Holocaust Encyclopedia
From US Holocaust Museum : "This resource contains more than 850 articles about the Holocaust, antisemitism, and current-day mass atrocities in 19 languages, including: An Introduction to the Holocaust, Nazi Propaganda, Antisemitism, Documenting Numbers of Victims of the Holocaust and Nazi Persecution"
The Holocaust: An Introductory History
Extensive resource from the Jewish Virtual Library.
World War II: The Holocaust
A photographic essay from The Atlantic about the Holocaust.
The Bielski Brothers
An article about Jewish resistance from Holocaust Education & Archive Research Team.
Genocide Research Libguide
SHS Media Center Libguide with resources about several genocides from around the globe.

World Without Genocide
This is an advocacy organization. May be a great resource for current issues and ways to take action. From their About Us: "Using the model of the Genocide Intervention Network, founded by Mark Hanis, Kennedy began World Without Genocide with a dedicated and gifted group of students. Over the past eleven years our organization has focused on education through many different opportunities – classes, workshops, films, exhibits, conferences – and we have advocated successfully for city and state legislation. We address conflicts in the past, those occurring today, and the challenging problems of child soldiers, human trafficking, gender-based violence, weapons trafficking, and resource scarcity or abundance as causes of conflict."
Genocide Resources from Peace Pleadge Union
Includes information about, Armenia 1915, Bosnia 1995, Cambodia 1975, Guatemala 1982, Namibia 1904, Rwanda 1994, Ukraine 1932, The Holocaust
Genocide Watch
From the website: "Genocide Watch exists to predict, prevent, stop, and punish genocide and other forms of mass murder. Our purpose is to build an international movement to prevent and stop genocide."
Genocide Education Project
"GenEd is a nonprofit organization assisting educators in teaching about human rights and genocide, particularly the Armenian Genocide, as the predecessor of the pattern of genocides that followed. "

Article Databases

Explore article databases when you know a little about your topic.

These databases give access to articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.

Access more articles
Dig with greater depth
Try out a variety of key terms for the best results.

Article Databases

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Global Issues in Context

Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.

Gale Diversity Studies

Curated content related to diversity, including feminism, LGBT, race, class, culture, health, disability and more.

Gale Religion and Philosophy

Explore religion from around the world through this collection of curated sources.

Gale War and Terrorism

Curated resources about war and terrorism around the world.

New York Times

Access current and historical New York Times Articles through Gale.

World History eBooks

Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide

Examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. Facts on File (Infobase)

Provides a close examination with documents and historical context about the Bosnian Genocide, the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Darfur Genocide, the East Timor Genocide, the Guatemalan Genocide, the Herero Genocide, the Holocaust, the Kurdish Genocide, and the Rwandan Genocide.