These databases have content that is written for this database specifically. There is one article for each topic, although there may be other articles closely related. These databases may also offer curated links to other outside resources.
Encyclopedia databases are great for the first stage of your research. They may help you:
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource. Choose the one that best fits your informational needs.
Some of our most popular encyclopedia databases are linked below.
Encyclopedia articles for background research and exploration in American History.
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern world geography.
Explore religions of the world.
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.
Explore controversies from American history.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.
Know a little about your topic.
If you don't know much at all, search through some of our encyclopedia databases (see the list below). These are great resources for basic background information to help build a collection of Key Terms.
(If you are struggling to find an appropriate article in a database, Wikipedia can be a useful tool in building a foundation of understanding and collecting key terms. Wikipedia should NOT be used as a source, but you can sometimes use it as a tool).
Jot down what you know about your topic, including people, dates, events, sub topics.
Go through this keyword generator resource from the University of Texas at Austin.
Save your collection of keywords somewhere easily accessible.
