LibGuides: Spanish Holidays: Home

Encyclopedia Resources

Database and eBook Research

Use the following databases for your research.

ABC-CLIO, Infobase Learning, and Britannica are great Encyclopedia databases to build a good foundation of understanding.

Gale databases are great article databases to use when you know a little bit about your topic already.

The eBooks are also great sources for reference information.

Databases

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

ABC-CLIO: World Geography

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern world geography.

Britannica Moderna

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Country Reports

Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Gale Power Search

Search all Gale databases.

Evaluate Your Sources

Evaluate your sources

Read laterally:

Look beyond the original source to investigate claims, authors, and organizations.

Open a new tab on your browser

Google the name of the organization or author in question
Did anything come up of interest?
Any red flags?
Do a quick Wikipedia search.
Or check claims against other fact-checking resources.

For the best resources about world holidays avoid blogs and personal websites. Consider resources about the history of a country or the holiday.

Website Evaluation and More
Click here for more information about source evaluation and an interactive quiz.

Reference eBooks

The eBooks below may include good information for your research.

Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Ken Albala (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313376269

Publication Date: 2011-05-25

Examine food from countries around the world.
Culture and Customs of Bolivia by Javier A. Galván; Javier A. Galván
ISBN: 9780313383649

Publication Date: 2011-04-06

In this book, contemporary representations of Bolivian art, music, religion, literature, festivals, theater, and cinema document how history and geography have shaped Bolivia's modern culture.
Culture and Customs of Honduras by Janet N. Gold
ISBN: 9780313341809

Publication Date: 2009-04-30

This book looks examines religion, as well as daily routines, cuisine, dress, media, sports, festivals, literature and oral storytelling, traditional crafts, visual arts, and music and dance.
Indigenous Peoples [4 Volumes] by Victoria R. Williams
ISBN: 9781440861178

Publication Date: 2020-02-24

This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.
Questioning Cultural Appropriation by Jonita Davis
ISBN: 9781978504455

Publication Date: 2018-12-15

We must all learn to questions cultural appropriation. it wipes out and whitewashes all of our differences away.