LibGuides: Navigate Media Center Resources about World War I: Home

Step One

Step One:

Read an article from one World War I Topic Center page on ABC CLIO. Select the "Topic Library" from the left sidebar for more specific articles.

On your handout, collect keywords including:

Important names
Locations
Descriptors/phrases
Dates

Navingting Resources Note page
Get a PDF of today's handout to open in Notability.

Encyclopedia Databases

Start with encyclopedia style databases to get a basic understanding of your research topic.

Navigate with ease
Find strong articles to introduce your topic
Identify key terms for further research

Encyclopedia Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Country Reports

Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in History

Explore controversies from American and World history.

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

Step Two

Step Two:

Explore your topic in an Article Database.

Use your keywords from Step One.

Article Databases

Explore article databases when you know a little about your topic.

These databases give access to articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.

Access more articles
Dig with greater depth
Try out a variety of key terms for the best results.

Article Databases

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Biography in Context

Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.

Gale Power Search

Search all Gale databases.

Gale Global Issues in Context

Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.

Step Three

Step Three:

Explore print and ebooks.

Use the Media Center Catalog (linked below) to search for print books in our collection.

Instead of using a keyword, think, what type of book MIGHT include my topic?
Browse the shelves
Look through the Table of Contents
Seek out your keywords in the index.

OR explore one of the ebooks linked below.

With the your keywords, do a full text search, or look through the index.
Explore the Table of Contents

Media Center Catalog
Click here to search the media center catalog for print books.

World War I by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: 940.303 TUC

ISBN: 9781440841217

Publication Date: 2016-05-16

This book includes essays, primary source documents, and chronology for WWI.
World War I by Rodney P. Carlisle; Joe H. Kirchberger
Call Number: 940.3 CAR

ISBN: 9781438108896

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

World War I examines one of the most pivotal points in 20th-century history, exploring the social, cultural, military, and political impacts of this war on American society, as well as the role the United States played in the conflict.
Opinions Throughout History: War and the Military by Micah Issit (Editor)
Call Number: 355.00 ISS

ISBN: 9781637000656

Publication Date: 2022-03-30

This title explores the history of the military in the United States. Each chapter includes a source document and a discussion of the historical context and relationship with today's issues.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by Leslie Alan Horvitz
Call Number: 364.1 HOR

ISBN: 9781438134864

Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. Facts on File (Infobase)

World War I
Overview of World War I history from Digital History.
BBC WWI
Resources and videos from a BBC production about World War I.
World War I Memorial
Resources related to a centennial memorial for WWI in Washington DC.
World War I Museum
An interactive timeline from WWI from the World War I Museum and Memorial.
1914-1918
International Encyclopedia of the First World War.
Striking Women: Women and Work
History of Women in Work during World War I.
How World War I Revolutionized Medicine
"Advances during the “first mass killing of the 20th century” have saved countless lives since." PDF copy of article here. https://tinyurl.com/wwimedicineshs
Edmund Dulac’s Fairy Tales Go to War
An article from JSTOR Daily about art from children's literature used as propaganda during WWI.
World War I and the 1920s
Articles about Social Welfare and Reform during World War I and the 1920s in US history.

Primary Source Resources
Links, eBooks, and Databases from the SHS Media Center to explore primary sources.

Newspapers.com
Accessible in the Shrewsbury High School building.

War Era Food Posters
Posters related to food that were designed during World War I and World War II.
World War I
Primary Sources from World War I from the British Library.
Armistice Day
Online exhibit of source images and more from Armistice Day on Google Arts and Culture.
World War I Online Exhibit
Online collection of primary source documents and images from Europeana.
African American Soldiers in World War I
A primary source online exhibit from the Digital Public Library of America.
World War I: America Heads to War
Online primary source exhibit from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
Patriotic Labor: America During World War I
Primary source online exhibit from the Digital Public Libraries of America.
World War I Document Archive
From The Great War Primary Documents Archive.
Illustrated Newspapers from World War I
From the Illustrated News of London.