LibGuides: Imperialism And Resistance: Home

Research Topic

Imperialism & Resistance

Navigate the resources below for greater understanding.

Step One

Step One:

Search in ABC-CLIO or Britannica for your topic.

On your handout, collect keywords including:

Important names
Locations
Descriptors / phrases
Dates

ABC-CLIO: World History
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.
ABC-CLIO: World Geography
Encyclopedia articles to explore modern world geography.
Britannica
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

Encyclopedia Databases

START HERE

Encylopedia Databases

Read around your topic with Encyclopedia Databases.

During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:

Build a foundation of understanding.
Find a path for your research.
Identify important key terms, events, and people for your research.

Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.

Encyclopedia Databases

Country Reports

Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies in History

Explore controversies from American and World history.

Step Two

Step Two:

Explore your topic in an Article Database.

Use your keywords from Step One.

Article Resources

NEXT STEPS

Article Databases

The following resources are best when you already have:

A basic understanding of what you are looking for.
A collection of key terms, events, and people to add to your search.

Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.

Article Databases

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Biography in Context

Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.

Step Three

Step Three:

Explore print and ebooks.

Use the Media Center Catalog (linked below) to search for print books in our collection.

Instead of using a keyword, think, what type of book MIGHT include my topic?
Browse the shelves
Look through the Table of Contents
Seek out your keywords in the index.

OR explore one of the ebooks linked below.

With the your keywords, do a full text search, or look through the index.
Explore the Table of Contents

Media Center Catalog
Click here to search the media center catalog for print books.

Encyclopedia of African Colonial Conflicts [2 Volumes] by Timothy J. Stapleton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598848373
Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Extensive (but incomplete) preview of this book. Includes the introduction and some entries. "Two volumes introduce the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrate why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century."
Indigenous Peoples [4 Volumes] by Victoria R. Williams
ISBN: 9781440861178
Publication Date: 2020-02-24
This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.