Use the sources below as you research diverse perspectives and experiences in Physics. Additionally, you may refer to the "Evaluate Your Sources" tab, to help you determine the credibility of online sources. The "Key Terms" tab will help if you are struggling to locate sources or are feeling stuck in your research.
Conduct an extensive literature review to identify key historical events, scientific breakthroughs, and notable physicists who faced challenges due to privilege bias, discrimination, or exclusion. Sources may include academic journals, biographies, historical accounts, and online databases.
Where to find information
In addition to the resources below consider also exploring the databases below for more information and sources. You may also find great resources through web searches. use the upper tab "Evaluate Your Sources" to evaluate for credibility.
African Americans by the Numbers
by
Stereotypes: the Incidence and Impacts of Bias
by
Select a few significant physicists who overcame various forms of privilege bias or discrimination. Analyze their life stories, including the obstacles they faced, strategies they employed to overcome those barriers, and their contributions to the field. Pay special attention to individuals from diverse backgrounds, such as women, racial and ethnic minorities, individuals with disabilities, and those from underprivileged socioeconomic backgrounds.
Where to find information
A case study is a deep dive into an individual or group. As that research can be very specific, it would be best to identify physicists to explore from the resources on the "Literature Review" tab. Then use the databases below to find more depth. Well known individuals may be profiled in the encyclopedia databases, but most will be mentioned in the article databases. You may also find great resources through web searches. use the upper tab "Evaluate Your Sources" to evaluate for credibility.
If possible, conduct interviews or gather oral histories from individuals who have personally experienced or witnessed discrimination or exclusion in the field of physics. This can provide valuable firsthand accounts and insights into the challenges faced and strategies employed to overcome them.
When it is time to reach out to experts or organizations related to your cause, keep the following in mind:
In your initial email, make sure that you.
Analyze the collected data, including historical narratives, case studies, and interviews, to identify recurring themes, patterns, and common experiences related to privilege, discrimination, and exclusion in physics. Use qualitative analysis techniques to gain a deeper understanding of the underlying factors that have affected diversity in the field.
Where to find information
The resources below may help you find additional information about trends in the Sciences, however, you should also analyze information from other sources to help you find patterns and connections.
You may also search for professional Physics organizations (such as AIP) for reports and information about issues related to the workforce. You may also find great resources through web searches. use the upper tab "Evaluate Your Sources" to evaluate for credibility.
Based on the findings, develop recommendations for promoting diversity and inclusion in the field of physics. Consider strategies that educational institutions, professional organizations, and policymakers can implement to address historical disparities and create more equitable opportunities for underrepresented individuals.
Where to find information
Your recommendations should be based off of the observations from your research. You can use the sources below to explore other initiatives and ideas, however, as future undergrads and potential scientists, you may have unique ideas and observations for the future. You may also find great resources through web searches. use the upper tab "Evaluate Your Sources" to evaluate for credibility.
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics. The articles in these databases are all written in house. There is less content than in article databases, but are a strong resource at the beginning of research.
Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Explore a variety of key terms to adjust your search results based on your needs.
