LibGuides: Imperialism & Resistance in Africa and Asia: Home

Encyclopedia Databases

Start with encyclopedia style databases to get a basic understanding of your research topic.

Navigate with ease
Find strong articles to introduce your topic
Identify key terms for further research

Encyclopedia Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

Country Reports

Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Read Around Your Topic Modern

Consequences of Imperialism

To get a better understanding of the current complex issues related to past imperialism, the following databases may be a good place to start looking.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
Look through the topics listed under Global Issues for resources related to modern issues facing countries around the world.
Country Reports
Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Article Databases

Explore article databases when you know a little about your topic.

These databases give access to articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.

Access more articles
Dig with greater depth
Try out a variety of key terms for the best results.

Article Databases

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Biography in Context

Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.

Gale Power Search

Search all Gale databases.

Gale Global Issues in Context

Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.

Additional Differentiated Resources

Hot Spot (World Conflicts Series) by Clinton Fernandes
ISBN: 9780313354120

Publication Date: 2008-06-30

This series of books examines the history and events leading up to modern conflicts in Latin America, Sub Saharan Africa, Asia and Oceania, North America and Europe.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by Leslie Alan Horvitz
Call Number: 364.1 HOR

ISBN: 9781438134864

Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. Facts on File (Infobase)
Modern Genocide by Paul R. Bartrop (Editor); Steven Leonard Jacobs (Editor); Joseph Robert White
Call Number: 364.15 BAR

ISBN: 9781610693639

Publication Date: 2014-12-17

Provides a close examination with documents and historical context about the Bosnian Genocide, the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Darfur Genocide, the East Timor Genocide, the Guatemalan Genocide, the Herero Genocide, the Holocaust, the Kurdish Genocide, and the Rwandan Genocide.
Refugees Worldwide by Doreen Elliott (Editor); Richard Munson; Uma A. Segal (Editor)
Call Number: 305.9 SEG

ISBN: 9780313378072

Publication Date: 2012-08-03

This book spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population.
Encyclopedia of African Colonial Conflicts [2 Volumes] by Timothy J. Stapleton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598848373

Publication Date: 2016-11-07

Extensive (but incomplete) preview of this book. Includes the introduction and some entries. "Two volumes introduce the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrate why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century."
Immigrant and Refugee Injustice by Mary Boone
Call Number: 304.8 BOO

ISBN: 9781678203979

Publication Date: 2022-06-19

Immigrants and refugees often face bias and discrimination when coming to a new country. This is called immigrant and refugee injustice. This book covers the history of immigrant and refugee injustice, key moments in fighting it, and what can be done to end it in the future.
Indigenous Peoples [4 Volumes] by Victoria R. Williams
Call Number: 305.8003 WIL

ISBN: 9781440861178

Publication Date: 2020-02-24

This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.

Asia’s Anti-Colonialist Journey
Article from the New Yorker (Save as a PDF, to avoid issues with a pay wall). From article: "After the Russian Revolution, a host of activists saw Communism as the way to end European imperialism. Their diverse fates provide an unexpected key to Asian politics."
Colonialism Impact on South Asia
Article from NBC News: "Across generations, South and Southeast Asians reflect on colonialism’s impact on identity"
Asian Responses to Imperialism
Video from Crash Course on Khan Academy. "This week John looks at some Asian perspectives on Imperialism, specifically writers from countries that were colonized by European powers. "
The ruins of empire: Asia's emergence from western imperialism
From the Guardian: "The central event of the modern era is Asia's emergence from the ravages of western imperialism. In Britain, meanwhile, Niall Ferguson is an ardent 'neo-imperialist'. Why can't we escape our narcissistic version of history, asks Pankaj Mishra"

African Activist
An archive of activist materials related to colonialism and apartheid in Africa. From the website: "The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s."
Thoughts of a Favorite Son : Interview with Nigerian Activist
From Website: "Read Soyinka's Twelve Canticles for the Zealot
When Wole Soyinka, Nigeria's Nobel Prize-winning author and playwright, heard that rioting had broken out in his country last November, he got on an airplane and headed home. Soyinka, among Africa's best-known writers, spent years in detention and was sentenced to death in absentia by Nigeria's military government in 1997."
Africa Today from the BBC Podcast
From the website: "News and analysis from the BBC's Focus on Africa. The Africa Today podcast is published from Monday to Friday. It contains the day's top African stories." Could be a good source to discuss current issues facing countries in Africa.
Global African History
From BlackPast.org: "The following are short descriptions of individuals, places and events which have contributed to the shaping of African American history. These encyclopedia entries serve as a starting point for much more inclusive descriptions and discussions that appear in other sources. For additional information please consult the print or website sources cited in the entry."
Long Walk of Nelson Mandela
Articles and videos from PBS Frontline about the life of Nelson Mandela, an activist against apartheid in South Africa.
Emerging Cultural Voices In Africa
From Website: "In this five-part series, NPR explores new artists from Africa." The short radio clips on this page discuss the current landscape of Africa.
The Story of Africa
From the BBC Website: "The Story of Africa tells the history of the continent from an African perspective. Africa's top historians take a fresh look at the events and characters that have shaped the continent from the origins of humankind to the end of South African apartheid."
Imperialism and socialism in the context of Africa
History and context of imperial rule in Africa.
African Resistance to Colonialism
From Khan Academy: "The initial resistance to colonialism in Africa often took the form of military confrontations. This article discusses three of these campaigns, which had different results. "
The long-run effects of the Scramble for Africa
From Article: "The 'Scramble for Africa' – the artificial drawing of African political boundaries among European powers in the end of the 19th century – led to the partitioning of several ethnicities across newly created African states. This columns shows that partitioned ethnic groups have suffered significantly longer and more devastating civil wars. It also uncovers substantial spillovers as ethnic conflict spreads from the historical homeland of groups partitioned to nearby areas where non-split ethnicities reside. "
The Scramble for Africa
History with maps about European Imperialism over Africa.