Use the resources below to research drug addiction, the connection to mental health, and policy proposals to address drug use.
Many resources may be biased. Biased resources can be good sources of information, but you must understand that you are missing an alternative perspective in a biased source. Read through multiple perspectives for a strong understanding of your topic, and be aware of misinformation. Look through tips and tools on the 2nd tab for more help.
During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:
Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.
Explore modern issues and controversies in society.
Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.
Thorough encyclopedia articles for research about American Government.
A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.
The following resources are best when you already have:
Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.
Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.
Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.
Curated resources related to the study of psychology.
JSTOR is a scholarly journal database with great resources for academic research. You must have Boston Public Library eCard for JSTOR. Get the eCard here: bit.ly/bpltutorials
Search all Gale databases.
Curated resources related to the criminal justice system.
Curated resources related to wellness (physical and mental).
This book series includes Chronic Pain and Prescription Painkillers, Preventing and Treating Addiction, the Dangers of Drug Abuse, The Heroin Crisis, and Who is Using Opioids and Opiates.
This book series includes books about drug use and causes, mental health, the family, the law, intervention and recovery, alcohol, tobacco, hallucinogens, marijuana, opioids, over-the-counter drugs, performance-enhancing drugs, prescription drugs, and stimulants.
A history of drug policy in the United States from the early 1900s through the present day. (Book written in 2012).
Includes articles about War on Drugs and Drug Courts. ABC-CLIO
Includes articles about the War on Drugs and addiction. Gale.
Includes an essay about the War on Drugs and the criminalization of drugs.
This book overview of vaping and its impact on American culture and public health, especially among younger Americans.
