LibGuides: Revolutions and Nationalist Movements Worldwide: Home

Research Topic

Revolutions and Nationalist Movements Worldwide

Digital resources for research about:

The Haitian Revolution
The Latin American Revolutions
The Revolutions of 1848
The Young Turk Revolution
German Unification
Japanese Meiji Revolution

Encyclopedia Databases

Start with encyclopedia style databases to get a basic understanding of your research topic.

Navigate with ease
Find strong articles to introduce your topic
Identify key terms for further research

Encyclopedia Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History

Encyclopedia articles to explore modern era world history.

Britannica

A great online encyclopedia database for background and introductory research.

Country Reports

Country Reports gives you access to historical and current information about the country.

Article Databases

Explore article databases when you know a little about your topic.

These databases give access to articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.

Access more articles
Dig with greater depth
Try out a variety of key terms for the best results.

Article Databases

Gale World History in Context

Explore topics in World History through authoritative curated content.

Gale Biography in Context

Curated content about and related to thousands of individuals from history and today.

Gale Power Search

Search all Gale databases.

Khan Academy World History Revolutions
Unit: 1750 -1900 Enlightenment and Revolution
Slavery in the Age of Revolutions
From a United Nations website, Slavery and Remembrance.
Haitian Revolution
An article from the website Black Past.
A Revolution in Haiti
An overview and essays related to the Haitian Revolution.
Haitian History
A timeline of Haitian History including the revolution.
Slavery and the Haitian Revolution
This is an article from a website about the French Revolution. It includes a detailed history and a number of images or text from primary sources related to the Haitian Revolution.
A Bittersweet Victory at Saint-Dominigue
An article from Slate excerpted from The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism. "The 1791 Haitian Revolution secured black independence in the former French colony and sounded the death knell for the European slave trade. It also ensured the expansion of U.S. slavery."
Khan Academy 1848 Revolutions
Articles related to the 1848 Revolutions.
The Seeds of the "Springtime of the Peoples"
A Study in the Causes of the Revolutions of 1848. From Inquiries Journal.
German Unification
Resources from AP Central CollegeBoard.
How Otto von Bismarck Unified Germany
Article about the Iron Chancellor.
Democratic Trends in Meiji Japan
Journal Article from Asian Studies.
Meiji Period in Japan
From Facing History.
Meiji Restoration and Modernization
Article from Asia for Educators
Facing History: Young Turks
Scholar Taner Akçam describes the Young Turks’ rise to power in the Ottoman Empire and their policies that led to the Armenian Genocide.

The Armenian Genocide by Jeri Freedman
ISBN: 143584873X

Publication Date: 2009-02-01

Discusses the Armenian genocide at the hands of the Turkish government during WWI.

Primary Source Resources
Links, eBooks, and Databases from the SHS Media Center to explore primary sources.
Modern History Sourcebook from Fordham University
Text from a variety of documents and primary sources relevant to modern world history, organized by country and time period.
Latin American Pamplet Digital Collection
From Harvard University. Scanned pamphlets and documents related to history in Latin America, including revolutions. (May be in a language other than English).
World Digital Library
Collection of primary source documents from World History from the US Library of Congress.
World History Primary Source Sets
Primary sources with context from world history organized by time period and themes. From the DPLA.