Research about a current topic or study in Psychology.
Start by finding a study or news article related to Psychology. Then do deeper research about that topic using media center ebooks or databases.
Start your research by exploring the following resources for current topics and studies in Psychology.
JSTOR is a database for academic research. To find current studies on this source, you can filter your results to include Psychology topics and to a specific date range. You will need a Boston Public Library eCard to access JSTOR. See the next link to apply for a BPL eCard (it only takes a few minutes).
Access current and historical New York Times Articles through Gale.
You can browse this database, or you can use it to access NYT articles that are behind a paywall.
Curated resources related to the study of psychology.
This includes access to news and magazine articles and academic/scientific research related to psychology. You can narrow results by type and date.
Use the following databases and ebooks to find more information about your topic in psychology.
Curated resources related to the study of psychology.
This database is more focused on articles. So you can find additional articles about your topic here, but you may also find reference materials about your topic as well.
Explore areas related to mental and physical wellness. These are encyclopedia style articles. You may be able to find reference articles related to your research topics.
Explore modern issues and controversies in society. These are encyclopedia reference articles related to controversial issues in modern society. If your topic is related to a controversial issue, you may be able to find more information here.
These articles summarize arguments about current controversial issues. It also includes many related news articles and more. If your topic is related to a controversial issue, you may be able to find more information here.
Curated resources related to wellness (physical and mental).
This database is more focused on articles. So you can find additional articles about your topic here, but you may also find reference materials about your topic as well.
Student Handbook to Psychology series. This book explores how psychologists have studied the structure of the brain.
Student Handbook to Psychology Series. Explores how we change as we move from infancy into childhood and through adulthood.
From the series Student Handbook to Psychology. Explores ancient philosophy through modern scientific perspectives.
From the series Student Handbook to Psychology. Looks at the way that people explore and learn about the world, sometimes without even being aware they are.
From the series Student Handbook to Psychology. Explores how psychology research ask questions and attempt to answer them.
From the series Student Handbook to Psychology. Psychological scientists have identified various patterns of abnormal behavior and are beginning to understand some of the reasons behind them and how to treat people displaying them.
From the Student Handbook to Psychology series. Explores how psychologists have produced a startling array of knowledge about how people act and react in social situations.
This book series includes books about addiction, personal relationships, motivation, personality, self-image, sexual identity and orientation, and violent behavior.
This book will help you get started on your way to recovery, from reporting an incident all the way to long-term strategies for self-care. From Big Timber Media
A book that addresses and provides tools for dealing with anxieties and fears.
This book will help you get started on your way to recovery, from reporting an incident all the way to long-term strategies for self-care. From Big Timber Media.
This book will introduce you to key concepts like consent, provide advice about how to date safely, share information about what a healthy relationship is and how to build one, and offer counsel about getting out of relationships that are violent or toxic. From Big Timber Media.
This book series includes books about drug use and causes, mental health, the family, the law, intervention and recovery, alcohol, tobacco, hallucinogens, marijuana, opioids, over-the-counter drugs, performance-enhancing drugs, prescription drugs, and stimulants.
This book provides an introduction to the issue of internet addiction, an increasingly common problem.- ABC-CLIO
Series includes books about ADHD, allergies, immune system disorders, asthma and other respiratory disorders, autism, cancer and sickle cell disease, cerebral palsy, cCohn's disease, depression and anxiety, diabetes, migraines, seizures, and muscular dystrophy.
This book series includes Chronic Pain and Prescription Painkillers, Preventing and Treating Addiction, the Dangers of Drug Abuse, The Heroin Crisis, and Who is Using Opioids and Opiates.
This book takes a close look at the issues of sexual violence and harassment and provides information on what you can do to make yourself, your friends, and your community safer. From Big Timber Media.
A book that addresses and provides tools related to school fears and anxieties.
Information and data about America's suicide epidemic from Big Timber Media.
This volume examines the ways many teens have learned to cope with and survive their stressors.
From the series Compact Research about teens who struggle with poor body image.
This book series includes books about teens and ADHD, eating disorders, gender dysphoria, OCD, phobias, PTSD, and suicide.
This book series includes books about sleep disorders, bipolar disorder, panic disorder, schizophrenia, and self-injury disorders.
This series includes detailed information about the uses and effects of drugs. Books include Hallucinogens, Marijuana, Alcohol, Ecstasy, Morphine, Sleep Drugs, Cancer Treatment Drugs, Prescription Pain Relievers, Amphetamines and Methamphetamine, Date Rape Drugs, Cocaine and Crack, Barbiturates and Other Depressants, Ritalin and Related Drugs, Antidepressants and Antianxiety Drugs, HIV/AIDS Treatment Drugs, and Steroids and Other Performance-Enhancing Drugs.
