LibGuides: Brave New World VS 1984: Home

Research Topic

Brave New World VS 1984

Use the resources below to explore topics related to themes from Huxley's Brave New World or Orwell's 1984.

Encyclopedia Databases

START HERE

Encylopedia Databases

Read around your topic with Encyclopedia Databases.

During the beginning stages of your research, reading around your topic helps you to:

Build a foundation of understanding.
Find a path for your research.
Identify important key terms, events, and people for your research.

Encyclopedia Databases provide thorough background information on a variety of topics and are a strong resource at this stage of research.

Encyclopedia Databases

ABC-CLIO: Issues

Explore modern issues and controversies in society.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies

Strong resource to explore modern issues and controversies in the United States.

Article Resources

NEXT STEPS

Article Databases

The following resources are best when you already have:

A basic understanding of what you are looking for.
A collection of key terms, events, and people to add to your search.

Article Databases search through a curated collection of newspapers, magazines, journals, books, and more. There are often many more articles with greater depth than Encyclopedia databases. Adding your key terms to a search will help you narrow your results.

Article Databases

Gale Global Issues in Context

Curated resources related to issues and controversies around the world.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Explore issues and controversies in modern society from a variety of viewpoints and sources.

Additional Resources

JSTOR Daily
News commentary with links to academic research.
Boston Public Library eCard
Free for all Massachusetts residents. Use this card for access to JSTOR.
Pew Research Center
Numbers, facts, and trends related to our current world.
News and Information Literacy
Resources from the SHS Media Center to explore news analysis and information literacy.
Academic Research
Resources and information about finding and using academic research.
Free Speech
Free Speech resources from the ACLU.
Right to Protest
Resources about the right to protest and your civil liberties.
Alarming Trend of Against US Trend
"U.N. experts see 'alarming' U.S. trend against free speech, protest"
ACLU
Resources from the ACLU about civil liberties.

Contemporary Fiction and Climate Uncertainty by Marco Caracciolo
ISBN: 9781350233898
Publication Date: 2022-04-21
"This book argues that storytelling is an important resource in coming to terms with the loss of the feeling of living a grounded existence where the future remains relatively stable and predictable. Faced with the specter of climate catastrophe, we lose confidence in the future-a well-documented response in the environmental movement, for example. Yet stories, and in particular sophisticated fictional stories, can help us negotiate that uncertainty: they offer affective and imaginative tools that channel the instability of our climate future and invite audiences to accept its fundamental uncertainty"

Black Lives Matter
Resources from the Black Lives Matter movement.
Women's March
Resources from the Women's March organizers.
What Makes a Successful Protest Movement
An analysis of modern protest movements

Revelations from the Russian Archives
Documents related to Stalin from the Library of Congress.
Joseph Stalin: National hero or cold-blooded murderer?
A timeline of Stalin in Russia/USSR
Revealing the Horror of Stalin
Article written by a historian for the BBC.
Understanding Stalin
An analysis of documents from the Russian archive.

ACLU Privacy and Surveillance
The American Civil Liberties Union advocates for civil liberties as outlined in the constitution. This is their resource on privacy and surveillance.
Electronic Frontier Foundation
This is a non-profit which fights to defend digital privacy.
NSA
The NSA or the National Security Agency uses digital means to keep our country safe from threats (cyber and otherwise). They have been accused of violating the privacy of American civilians. You can use them as a resource to justify the need for surveillance for security.
Google Safety Center
All online companies keep data on users for a variety of reasons, including Google. This page from Google explores how to keep your information safe.
Eye in the Sky: Radio Lab
This episode of the NPR podcast, Radio Lab, explores how advancements in technologies can assist in security and law enforcement. It discusses pros and touches on the cons of such technology.
A New Kind of DNA Evidence
From JSTOR Daily "Should familial DNA be used in forensic investigations? How it works — and some of the potential problems with the practice."
National Security NPR
NPR National Security articles and news.
Privacy and Security NPR
Article and news from NPR about privacy and security. r
After Boston the Pros and Cons of Surveillance Cameras
From CNN "Even after the identification of the Boston bombing suspects through grainy security-camera images, officials say that blanketing a city in surveillance cameras can create as many problems as it solves. "
Consumer Perspectives of Privacy and Artificial Intelligence
From the International Association of Privacy Professionals. This article is very relevant to discussions of surveillance and privacy, but their entire site might be of use.

BioEthics 101
From BioEthics.com. BioEthics 101 gives background information about the ethics of STEM Cells, reproductive technologies, and end of life decisions.
BioEthics.com
Click on "Topics," and select a topic related to your research. They link to a number of news articles related to various bioethics topics.
Bioethics: Key Concepts and Research
From JSTOR Daily, a collection of academic research about many bioethical concerns.
Science Daily
Science Daily aggregates science news from a variety of publications. Many of these topics are very current, and the most recent discussions may be on this site.
AMA Journal of Ethics
The AMA Journal of Ethics is a collection of ethical discussions for medical students and clinicians.
The Weird, Ever-Evolving Story of DNA
An article from the Atlantic that explores the connections between eugenics and gene-editing.
Journal of Clinical Research and Bioethics
Free archives from a scientific journal addressing BioEthics.

How do you tell when the news is biased? It depends on how you see yourself
"Does the quest for balance in news stories open journalists up to claims of bias? It’s all about the framing."
Intellectual Freedom
Resources about intellectual freedom from the American Library Association.
Newseum
Resources from Newseum about news and media.
What is propaganda
A discussion of propaganda from a historian's perspective.

Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America by Martin J. Manning (Editor); Clarence R. Wyatt (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598842272
Publication Date: 2010-12-20
Examines the relationship between the media, propaganda, and the military since before the American Revolution through today.
Propaganda and Conflict by Mark Connelly (Editor); Jo Fox (Editor); Ulf Schmidt (Editor); Stefan Goebel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788314039
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
"This volume presents the latest research in propaganda studies, featuring contributions from a range of leading scholars and covering the most cutting-edge scholarship in the study of propaganda from World War I to the present."

Socioeconomic Status
Resources from the APA about how socioeconomic status affects individuals.
Social Darwinism
A discussion of social darwinism and class from Slate.
Impacts of Class
A sociological look at social class.
Wired for Distraction
Kids and social media.
Social Media is Distracting us To Death
"and we are too distracted to care."
Amusing Ourselves to Death
A preview of a book from Neil Postman about the affects of media on society.

The Torture Question
A resource from PBS asking the question, in fighting the war on terror, how far should the United States go to protect itself?
Torture at Abu Ghraib
An article from the New Yorker with background information about torture at Abu Ghraib and the controversy.
Abuse of Iraq POWs by GIs Probed
A news article from 60 Minutes about torture in Iraq.
How the CIA Tortures Detainees
News article about CIA torture.

Real Lessons of the Stanford Prison Experiment
From the New Yorker, an essay about implications from the infamous experiment.
40 Years Later - What Happened at the Stanford Prison Experiment
Images and commentary from the experiment.
Stanford Prison Experiment
A discussion of a documentary about the experiment and ethical implications in psychology.

The Past and Future of U.S. Prison Policy
Twenty-Five Years after the Stanford Prison Experiment. From the journal American Psychologist.
Banality of Heroism
From the Greater Good magazine, an article about bystanders and the Stanford Prison Experiment.

An Important but Rarely Discussed Lesson of the Stanford Prison Experiment
"Power corrupts, but power doesn't corrupt everyone equally"

Contemporary US Social Issues (Organized Alphabetically)

The #MeToo Movement

An overview of the #MeToo movement and it's impact on American society. ABC-CLIO

African Americans by the Numbers

Current statistics about African Americans highlighting social, economic and political disparities. ABC-CLIO

Antisemitism: Exploring the Issues

This book explores the causes and consequences of contemporary antisemitism, placing this form of hatred in its historical, political, and social contexts. ABC-CLIO

Crisis on the Border

Refugees and Undocumented Immigrants from Big Timber Media.

Critical Thinking about Digital Media Series

This book series includes Twitter Culture, Fake News, the Confirmation Bias, Understanding Memes, Weaponized Social Media, and When Content Goes Viral.

Critical World Issues: Consumerism

Due to today’s globalized economic systems, how and what you buy has repercussions that impact people all over the world.

Encyclopedia of Climate Change

Available in print and as an ebook.
Book description: "This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Climate Change... provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change. It includes 558 essays and extensive back matter... with a comprehensive and convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change."

Indigenous Peoples [4 Volumes]

This title examines the lives, histories, social structures, cultures, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Includes well-known groups with large populations, and other lesser-known groups with few surviving members. Sections cover geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival.

LGBTQ+: Defining Documents in American History

"This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through Danica Roem's speech in 2017, celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History."